The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

Virginia Delegation to the
1980 Democratic National Convention

Delegates (may be incomplete!)
John R. Alford, Lynchburg - Hunter B. Andrews, Hampton - Nancy Arnsen, Alexandria - Peter K. Babalas, Norfolk - Herbert Bangel, Portsmouth - Sandra D. Bowen, Richmond - William Bowers, Suffolk - John Brown, Warsaw - Evelyn T. Butts, Norfolk - Adelaide A. Carson, Newport News - C. Champ Clark, Chilhowie - Mildred B. Clark, Chilhowie - Rosalie Clark, Richmond - Cecily Coleman, Alexandria - Richard J. Davis, Portsmouth - Genevieve Dickinson, Roanoke - Mary Walton Dickinson, Mineral - Norma A. Douglass, Blacksburg - Jackie Dunn, Charlotte Court House - Donna G. Elder, Sutherland - Paul Elswick, Big Rock - Jan Faircloth, Chesapeake - Hermanze Fauntleroy, Petersburg - Willard Finney, Rocky Mount - James Ghee, Farmville - George H. Gilliam, Charlottesville - Lessie M. Gimbert, Virginia Beach - Marlene J. Hager, Virginia Beach - George M. Hampton, Woodbridge - Jonathan T. Harris, Norfolk - Michael Hill, Arlington - Mary Sherwood Holt, Newport News - Jack M. Horn, Charlottesville - Margo E. Horner, Arlington - Nancy F. Jiranek, Danville - Cynthia D. Johnson, Roanoke - Lynne Johnson, Vienna - May W. Johnson, Roanoke - Marie C. Lawless, Covington - Virginia Lehner, Alexandria - Frances C. Lowe, Roanoke - Rhoda Maddox, Winchester - Henry L. Marsh, Richmond - Tucker W. McLaughlin, Halifax - John Melnick, Arlington - Thomas W. Moss, Jr., Norfolk - Emily Myatt, Alexandria - Alfonzo M. Parker, Richmond - Jessie M. Rattley, Newport News - Chuck Robb, McLean - Elna J. Robinson, Pound - Penelope Rood, Fairfax - Sophie Ann Salley, Richmond - John Schell, McLean - Robert C. Scott, Newport News - Thomas G. Stewart, Annandale - Cathy Strickler, Bridgewater - L. Bonsall Sykes, Clintwood - David R. Teets, Richmond - Tom Thorpe, Jr., Catlett - James J. Vergara, Jr., Hopewell - Prentiss A. Webb, Roanoke - L. Douglas Wilder, Richmond - Dewey Wilson, Hampton

Alternates (may be incomplete!)
James Augustine, Norfolk - Daniel W. Bird, Jr., Wytheville - Lester W. Bolton, Jr., Manassas - Robert L. Burrus, Jr., Richmond - Bernard S. Cohen, Alexandria - David Crowley, Falls Church - L. Karen Darner, Arlington - Deanna DeMember, Fairfax - Beverly Diamonstein, Newport News - Dorothy P. Egelhoff, Richmond - Robert E. Firebaugh, Roanoke - Donald B. Gibson, Hampton - Vivian B. Gordon, Crozet - William G. Gray, Richmond - Lauralee M. Grim, Virginia Beach - Nannie M. Hairston, Christiansburg - Virginia Hall, Martinsville - W. Wayne Heslep, Lexington - Virgie Hobson, Martinsville - Victor Langhorne, Newport News - O. Leland MaHan, Leesburg - Lawrence S. McDowell, Waynesboro - Beth C. Nelson, Radford - Charles B. O'Keefe, Midlothian - Jiranimo Oliveira, Annandale - Gamiel G. Poindexter, Surry - Donna M. Poll, Annandale - Kathleen K. Seefeldt, Woodbridge - Jane L. Sheffey, Bristol - Georgia R. Short, Portsmouth - Dean W. Smith, Virginia Beach - Robert M. Spaulding, Mechanicsville - Mary A. Thayer, Eagle Rock - Samuel Thompson, Charlottesville - Christie Vernon, Grafton - Nancy A. Waldrop, Richmond - R. P. 'Bobby' Walters, Wytheville - Rosa Marie Wells, Portsmouth - Linda White, Rocky Mount - Florence Williams, Newport News - I. Joseph Williams, Norfolk - Diane Worthington, McLean

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/D/1980/VA.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]