The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

Minnesota Democratic Party offices

Index of Politicians by Party Office Held

State Party Officers:

Minnesota Delegates to Democratic National Conventions: very incomplete!

Democratic state chairs, 1892-1945 (Incomplete!)

Louis Baker 1890 Lewis Baker as of 1892 Frank A. Day as of 1904-08 Julius Thorson as of 1925 William J. Quinn as of 1929 Hubert d'Autremont as of 1930 John J. Farrell as of 1931 John F. D. Meighen as of 1937 Joseph N. Moonan as of 1939 Elmer F. Kelm 1940-45

Democratic state vice-chairs, 1940-2008 (Incomplete!)

Margaret Drips 1940-44 Donna Cassutt as of 2008

Members of Democratic National Committee, 1876-2008 (Incomplete!)

William Lochren as of 1876-80 Michael Doran as of 1888 Fred B. Lynch as of 1912-16 Anna D. Olesen as of 1920 Fred E. Wheaton as of 1920-21 Mrs. Stanley V. Hodge as of 1929 Joseph Wolf as of 1929 John P. Erickson as of 1939-40 Ida McCabe Kayser as of 1939-40 Margaret Drips 1944-48 Theodor S. Slen as of 1947 Byron G. Allen 1948-55 Eugenie Anderson as of 1948-49 Ione Hunt as of 1954 John A. Blatnik as of 1963 Geri M. Joseph as of 1963 Paul Wellstone as of 1984-91 Tarryl L. Clark as of 2004 Mike Erlandson as of 2004 Ken Foxworth as of 2004-08 Greg Knutson as of 2004 Sarah Lewerenz as of 2004 Jackie Stevenson as of 2004-08 Nancy Larson as of 2008 Mee Moua as of 2008 Rick Stafford as of 2008

Democratic state party secretaries, 1937 (Incomplete!)

Elmer F. Kelm as of 1937

Members of Democratic State Central Committee, 1906-10 (Incomplete!)

Anton Schaefer 1890 Lawrence Wisniewski as of 1906-10

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/D/MN.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]