The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

Arkansas Democratic Party offices

Index of Politicians by Party Office Held

State Party Officers:

Arkansas Delegates to Democratic National Conventions: very incomplete!

Arkansas Democratic Party County Chairs: very incomplete!


Democratic state chairs, 1878-1958 (Incomplete!)

John R. Homer Scott as of 1878 A. J. Walls as of 1914 Virgil C. Pettie as of 1923 Thomas W. Campbell as of 1925 J. S. Utley as of 1929 E. L. Compere as of 1930 Lamar Williamson as of 1931 Thomas FitzHugh as of 1937 W. S. Atkins as of 1939 Robert Knox as of 1941 Joe C. Barrett 1941-44 Arthur Adams 1944-49 Willis B. Smith as of 1949-50 Thomas Harper as of 1955-58

Democratic state vice-chairs, 1950-2008 (Incomplete!)

Elsie Jane Trimble Roy as of 1950 Karla Bradley as of 2008

Members of Democratic National Committee, 1876-2008 (Incomplete!)

S. R. Cockrell as of 1876 J. I. Sumpter as of 1880 S. W. Fordyce 1888 Simon P. Hughes as of 1888 Thomas C. McRae 1896-1900 William Marmaduke Kavanaugh 1912 Wallace Davis as of 1916 James D. Head as of 1920 Mrs. James D. Head as of 1920-24 Vincent M. Miles as of 1921-29 Alice Cordell as of 1929 Brooks Hays 1932-39 Beatrice Frost as of 1937-43 Thomas H. Barton as of 1940 Hendrix Alphin as of 1943 Mrs. Jack Carnes as of 1944-63 R. B. Robins as of 1944-50 R. B. Robbins as of 1947 Paul Chambers as of 1954 Thomas Harper as of 1963 Don R. Beavers as of 2004-08 Karla Bradley as of 2004 Martha Dixon as of 2004-08 Ron Oliver as of 2004 Lottie H. Shackelford as of 2004-08

Democratic state party secretaries, 1937-50 (Incomplete!)

Beloit Taylor as of 1937 Frank W. Newell as of 1950

Members of Democratic State Central Committee, 1890-1901 (Incomplete!)

Stephen Brundidge, Jr. 1890-1901

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/D/AR.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]