The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

U.S. diplomatic chiefs of mission to France

Benjamin Franklin (Minister 1778-85) Thomas Jefferson (Minister 1785-89) William Short (Charge d'Affaires 1790-92) Gouverneur Morris (Minister 1792-94) James Monroe (Minister 1794-96) Charles Cotesworth Pinckney (Minister 1796-97) Robert R. Livingston (Minister 1801-04) John Armstrong, Jr. (Minister 1804-10) Jonathan Russell (Charge d'Affaires 1810-11) Joel Barlow (Minister 1811-12) William H. Crawford (Minister 1813-15) Albert Gallatin (Minister 1815-23) James Brown (Minister 1823-29) William Cabell Rives (Minister 1829-32) Levitt Harris (Charge d'Affaires 1833) Edward Livingston (Minister 1833-35) Lewis Cass (Minister 1836-42) William R. King (Minister 1844-46) Richard Rush (Minister 1847-49) William Cabell Rives (Minister 1849-53) John Y. Mason (Minister 1853-59) Charles J. Faulkner (Minister 1860) William L. Dayton (Minister 1861-64) John Bigelow (Minister 1865-66) John A. Dix (Minister 1866-69) Elihu B. Washburne (Minister 1869-77) Edward F. Noyes (Minister 1877-81) Levi P. Morton (Minister 1881-85) Robert M. McLane (Minister 1885-89) Whitelaw Reid (Minister 1889-92) T. Jefferson Coolidge (Minister 1892-93) James B. Eustis (Ambassador 1893-97) Horace Porter (Ambassador 1897-1905) Robert S. McCormick (Ambassador 1905-07) Henry White (Ambassador 1906-09) Robert Bacon (Ambassador 1909-12) Myron T. Herrick (Ambassador 1912-14) William G. Sharp (Ambassador 1914-19) Hugh Campbell Wallace (Ambassador 1919-21) Myron T. Herrick (Ambassador 1921-29) Walter E. Edge (Ambassador 1929-33) Jesse Isidor Straus (Ambassador 1933-36) William C. Bullitt (Ambassador 1936-40) William D. Leahy (Ambassador 1940-42) Jefferson Caffery (Ambassador 1944-49) David K. E. Bruce (Ambassador 1949-52) James Clement Dunn (Ambassador 1952-53) C. Douglas Dillon (Ambassador 1953-57) Amory Houghton (Ambassador 1957-61) James M. Gavin (Ambassador 1961-62) Charles E. Bohlen (Ambassador 1962-68) R. Sargent Shriver, Jr. (Ambassador 1968-70) Arthur K. Watson (Ambassador 1970-72) John Nichol Irwin II (Ambassador 1973-74) Kenneth Rush (Ambassador 1974-77) Arthur Adair Hartman (Ambassador 1977-81) Evan Griffith Galbraith (Ambassador 1981-85) Joe M. Rodgers (Ambassador 1985-89) Walter J. P. Curley, Jr. (Ambassador 1989-93) Pamela Harriman (Ambassador 1993-97) Felix Rohatyn (Ambassador 1997) Howard H. Leach (Ambassador 2001)

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ZZ/FR-diplomats.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]