The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

U.S. Politicians who died in France

  France (no city given): William L. Dayton, 1864 — Bertram T. Clayton, 1918 — Dee Caperton, 2000
  Aconin: Roy E. Parrish, 1918
  Aix-les-Bains: Charles Payson, 1913
  Biarritz: Frederick H. Prince, 1953
  Bordeaux: Albion W. Tourgee, 1905
  Cannes: George Eustis, Jr., 1872 — Elmer W. Demarest, 1930 — Brand Whitlock, 1934
  Epinay-sur-Seine: William P. Whitlock, 1927
  Evian-les-Bains: Benito Legarda y Tuason, 1915
  Inxent: Ridgway B. Knight, 2001
  Le Havre: James G. Finley, 1929
  Le Thor, Provence: Pierre Salinger, 2004
  Lyon: George B. Kelly, 1971
  Menton: Somerville Pinkney Tuck, 1923
  Mentone (Menton): Joseph Howland, 1886 — J. Howell Carroll, 1903 — William Astor Chanler, 1934
  Neuilly: William C. Bullitt, 1967
  Nice: John H. Martindale, 1881 — William Henry Vesey, 1881 — Harold S. Van Buren, 1907 — George Chandler Holt, 1931
  Normandy: Theodore Roosevelt, 1944
  Périgueux: Joseph Roffignac, 1846
  Paris, 1800-1899: Adam Seybert, 1825 — James Swan, 1830 — Dudley Selden, 1855 — Benjamin F. Butler, 1858 — John Y. Mason, 1859 — Joseph P. Allyn, 1869 — Lucius B. Crocker, 1869 — Luther Martin Kennett, 1873 — Judah P. Benjamin, 1884 — Frederick Hassaurek, 1885 — Augustus S. Chase, 1896 — Robert M. McLane, 1898 — Amasa Norcross, 1898
  Paris, 1900-1999: Duncan Bailly-Blanchard, 1905 — Auguste Fusenot, 1907 — George S. Batcheller, 1908 — Thomas B. Wanamaker, 1908 — William F. Grinnell, 1912 — Luis F. Lastreto, 1913 — Clinton D. MacDougall, 1914 — William Sprague, 1915 — Frank H. Mason, 1916 — Robert A. Van Wyck, 1918 — Henry H. Getty, 1919 — Richard Wayne Parker, 1923 — Myron T. Herrick, 1929 — Lorin A. Lathrop, 1929 — Charles H. Sherrill, 1936 — Samuel Insull, 1938 — Frederick C. Fairbanks, 1945 — Henry F. Hollis, 1949 — Pierre de L. Boal, 1966 — Lewis Einstein, 1967 — S. Pinkney Tuck, 1967 — Harry E. Bergold, Jr., 1995
  Near Paris: Pamela Harriman, 1997
  Pau: Aaron Vail, 1878
  Puligny-Montrachet: Philip C. Habib, 1992
  Rennes: John James Appleton, 1864
  Rouen: Oscar Malmros, 1909
  Somme département: Gordon Paddock, 1932

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ZZ/FR-died.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]