The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

U.S. Politicians who were born in France

  France (no city given): Julien de Lallande Poydras, 1740 — Eligius Fromentin, c.1767 — Pierre A. C. B. Derbigny, 1769 — Jean P. R. Bureau, 1770 — Pierre Soulé, 1801 — Auguste L. A. Fredin, 1818 — George Gerard, c.1822 — Charles La Gendre, c.1829 — George Barbaras, 1832 — Lucien Sanial, 1836 — Blaise Labbé, 1837 — Nicholas Staub, 1841 — Leon Jastremski, 1843 — William Heimké, 1847 — Elisée Jouard, 1851 — Auguste Fusenot, 1851 — Charles Tassencourt, 1852 — Eugene Germain, c.1853 — Leon du Bois, c.1855 — Benjamin Morel, 1858 — E. L. G. Milson, c.1858 — Jacques D. Schnegg, 1872 — Auguste J. Proux, 1874 — Pierre Robert Graham, 1922
  Alsace: Frederic Storm, 1844
  Alsace-Lorraine: Louis Fechter, Sr., 1851 — Matthew J. Steffens, 1852
  Angoulême: Joseph Roffignac, 1766
  Angviller, Lorraine: Jean L. La Forêt, 1853
  Aurignac: Jean Baptiste Adoue, 1846
  Besancon: Joseph C. Wolff, 1849
  Bordeaux: Gabriel Minvielle, c.1644 — John C. Wiley, 1893
  Calais: John James Appleton, 1792
  Cannes: Charles B. Beylard, 1888
  Carcassonne: Michel Vidal, 1824 — Albert Ferrier, 1848
  Cherbourg: Auguste Lanièce, 1864
  Deyme: Bertrand Adoue, 1841
  La Ville de Saintes: Gabriel Richard, 1767
  Lorraine: Peter Sailly, 1754 — John M. Ney, c.1839
  Lyon: Felix Agnus, 1839
  Marseille: Joseph Mascarel, 1816 — Henry T. Oxnard, 1860
  Mazamet: Emile Stanislas Brus, 1847
  Mont-Cenis: William Eichbaum, Jr., 1787
  Mornas: John H. Madonne, 1896
  Nancy: Simon Klotz, 1855
  Nice: Claude Laroche Carney, 1927
  Niedersbach, Alsace: Samuel Levy, 1835
  Normandy: James Pitot, 1761 — Francois C. Boucher, c.1828
  Paris: Arthur A. Birney, 1852 — Max Voelcker, 1864 — Larz Anderson, 1866 — Frederick C. Fairbanks, 1868 — Maurice Fontaine, 1869 — Maude K. Wetmore, 1873 — Francis E. Vouillon, 1875 — R. S. Reynolds Hitt, 1876 — Vivian Burnett, 1876 — Edward W. Biesel, 1880 — Francis Biddle, 1886 — Winthrop R. Scott, 1888 — Christian A. Herter, 1895 — André George Gradvohl, 1895 — Robert D. Longyear, 1896 — Maxime Rainguet, 1897 — Vinton Chapin, 1900 — William R. Tyler, 1910 — Ridgway B. Knight, 1911 — William Attwood, 1919 — Charles S. Whitehouse, 1921 — Carleton S. Coon, 1927 — Lowell P. Weicker, Jr., 1931
  Pont-Audemer, Normandy: John Baptiste Charles Lucas, 1758
  Thonon-les-Bains: Pierre de L. Boal, 1895
  Verdun: Mark Meadows, 1959

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ZZ/FR-born.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]