The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Matagorda County

Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in Matagorda County

Index to Locations

  • Unknown location
  • Private or family graveyards
  • Matagorda Matagorda Cemetery

    Unknown Location
    Matagorda County, Texas
    Politicians formerly buried here:
      Bailey Hardeman (1795-1836) — of Texas. Born near Nashville, Davidson County, Tenn., February 26, 1795. Served in the U.S. Army during the War of 1812; delegate to Texas Republic Republic constitutional convention from District of Matagorda, 1836; signer, Texas Declaration of Independence, 1836; Texas Republic Secretary of the Treasury, 1836. Died in Caney Creek, Matagorda County, Tex., October 12, 1836 (age 41 years, 229 days). Original interment somewhere; reinterment in 1936 at Texas State Cemetery, Austin, Tex.
      Relatives: Son of Thomas Hardeman (1750-1833) and Mary (Perkins) Hardeman (1754-1798); brother of Thomas Jones Hardeman; fourth cousin of Martha Jefferson Randolph, John Wayles Eppes and John Randolph of Roanoke; fourth cousin once removed of Benjamin William Sheridan Cabell (1793-1862), Francis Wayles Eppes, Benjamin Franklin Randolph, Meriwether Lewis Randolph and George Wythe Randolph.
      Political families: Harrison-Randolph-Marshall-Cabell family of Virginia; Breckinridge-Preston-Cabell family of Virginia; Kellogg-Adams-Seymour-Chapin family of Connecticut and New York; Walker-Bolling family of Huntsville, Alabama (subsets of the Three Thousand Related Politicians).
      Hardeman County, Tex. is named partly for him.

    Private or family graveyard
    Matagorda County, Texas
    Politicians buried here:
      John Rugeley (1792-1878) — of Alabama; Texas. Born in South Carolina, January 12, 1792. Member of Alabama state legislature, 1830; member of Texas Republic Senate from District of Matagorda, Jackson and Victoria, 1843-44; delegate to Texas secession convention, 1861. Died in Bay Prairie, Matagorda County, Tex., 1878 (age about 86 years). Interment in a private or family graveyard.

    Matagorda Cemetery
    Matagorda, Matagorda County, Texas
    Politicians buried here:
      Samuel Rhoads Fisher (1794-1839) — also known as S. Rhoads Fisher — of Texas. Born in Pennsylvania, December 31, 1794. Delegate to Texas Republic Republic constitutional convention from District of Matagorda, 1836; signer, Texas Declaration of Independence, 1836; Texas Republic Secretary of the Navy, 1836-37. Died March 14, 1839 (age 44 years, 73 days). Interment at Matagorda Cemetery.
      Fisher County, Tex. is named for him.
      Albert Clinton Horton (1798-1865) — Born in Hancock County, Ga., September 4, 1798. Democrat. Member of Alabama state house of representatives, 1829-30, 1833-34; colonel in the Texas Army during the Texas War of Independence; member of Texas Republic Senate from District of Matagorda, Jackson and Victoria, 1836-38; delegate to Texas state constitutional convention, 1845; Lieutenant Governor of Texas, 1846-47; delegate to Texas secession convention, 1861. Baptist. Slaveowner. Died in Matagorda, Matagorda County, Tex., September 1, 1865 (age 66 years, 362 days). Interment at Matagorda Cemetery.

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/TX/MA-buried.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]