The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Texas: Lieutenant Governors

Lieutenant Governors of Texas, 1846-2021 (May be incomplete!)
Albert Clinton Horton 1846-47 John Alexander Greer 1847-51 Hardin Richard Runnels 1855-57 Francis Richard Lubbock 1857-59 Fletcher S. Stockdale 1863-65 George W. Jones 1866-67 James W. Flanagan 1869-70 Donald Campbell 1870-71 Richard B. Hubbard, Jr. 1873-76 Edward Bradford Pickett 1876 Joseph D. Sayers 1878-80 L. J. Storey 1880-82 Marion Martin 1882-84 Francis Marion Martin 1883-85 Barnett Gibbs 1884-86 Thomas Benton Wheeler 1886-90 George C. Pendleton 1890-92 M. M. Crane 1893-95 George T. Jester 1895-98 J. N. Browning 1898-1902 George D. Neal 1902-06 A. B. Davidson 1906-12 Will H. Mayes 1912-14 William P. Hobby 1914-17 W. A. Johnson 1917-20 Lynch Davidson 1920-22 T. W. Davidson 1922-24 Barry Miller 1924-31 Edgar E. Witt 1931-35 Walter Woodul 1935-39 Coke R. Stevenson 1939-41 John Lee Smith 1943-47 Allan Shivers 1947-49 Ben Ramsey 1951-61 Preston Smith 1963-69 Ben F. Barnes 1969-73 William P. Hobby, Jr. 1973-91 Bob Bullock 1991-99 Rick Perry 1999-2000 Bill Ratliff 2000-03 David Dewhurst 2003-15 Dan Patrick 2015-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1847: Edward H. Tarrant, defeated.
  • 1849: Middleton Tate Johnson, defeated.
  • 1851: Robert McAlpin Williamson, defeated.
  • 1869: Albert H. Latimer (Rep), defeated.
  • 1870 Mar 12: James W. Flanagan, resigned.
  • 1871 Nov 8: Donald Campbell, died in office.
  • 1878: Richard Allen, defeated.
  • 1882: Francis Marion Martin (Dem), elected.
  • 1924: Joseph H. Kurth (Rep), defeated.
  • 1930: Sterling P. Strong, defeated.
  • 1990: Bob Bullock (Dem), elected; Robert Mosbacher, Jr. (Rep), defeated.
  • 1994 Mar 8: Bob Bullock (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1994 Mar 8: H. J. 'Tex' Lezar (Rep), nominated unopposed.
  • 1994 Nov 8: Bob Bullock (Dem), elected; H. J. 'Tex' Lezar (Rep), defeated.
  • 1998 Mar 10: John Sharp (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1998 Mar 10: Rick Perry (Rep), nominated unopposed.
  • 1998 Nov 3: Rick Perry (Rep), elected; John Sharp (Dem), defeated; Anthony Garcia (Libertarian), defeated.
  • 2002 Mar 12: John Sharp (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 2002 Mar 12: David Dewhurst (Rep), nominated; Thomas V. Kelly (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 2002 Nov 5: David Dewhurst (Rep), elected; John Sharp (Dem), defeated; Mark David Gessner (Libertarian), defeated; Nathalie Paravicini (Green), defeated.
  • 2006 Nov 7: David Dewhurst (Rep), elected; Maria Luisa Alvarado (Dem), defeated; Judy Baker (Libertarian), defeated.
  • 2010 Nov 2: David Dewhurst (Rep), elected; Linda Chavez-Thompson (Dem), defeated; Scott Jameson (Libertarian), defeated; Herb Gonzales, Jr. (Green), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/TX/ofc/ltgov.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]