The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Grimes County

Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in Grimes County

Index to Locations

  • Anderson Fanthorp Cemetery
  • Anderson Odd Fellows Cemetery
  • Navasota Unknown location
  • Near Navasota John McGinty Cemetery

    Fanthorp Cemetery
    Anderson, Grimes County, Texas
    Politicians buried here:
      Kenneth Lewis Anderson (1805-1845) — of Texas. Born in North Carolina, September 11, 1805. Member of Texas Republic House of Representatives, 1841-42; Vice President of the Texas Republic, 1844-45; died in office 1845. Died at the Fanthorp Inn, in Fanthorp (now Anderson), Grimes County, Tex., July 3, 1845 (age 39 years, 295 days). Interment at Fanthorp Cemetery.
      Anderson County, Tex. is named for him.

    Odd Fellows Cemetery
    Anderson, Grimes County, Texas
    Politicians buried here:
      Robert Caldwell Neblett (1795-1871) — of Texas. Born in Roanoke, Va., October 28, 1795. Served in the U.S. Army during the War of 1812; member of Texas state house of representatives, 1855-56. Died December 21, 1871 (age 76 years, 54 days). Interment at Odd Fellows Cemetery.

    Unknown Location
    Navasota, Grimes County, Texas
    Politicians buried here:
      George D. Neal (1853-1916) — of Navasota, Grimes County, Tex. Born in Amelia Court House, Amelia County, Va., October 7, 1853. Member of Texas state senate 15th District, 1897-1902; Lieutenant Governor of Texas, 1902-06. Died July 13, 1916 (age 62 years, 280 days). Interment somewhere.

    John McGinty Cemetery
    Near Navasota, Grimes County, Texas
    Politicians formerly buried here:
      Jesse Grimes (1788-1866) — of Texas. Born in Duplin County, N.C., February 6, 1788. Delegate to Texas Convention of 1833 from District of Washington, 1833; delegate to Texas Consultation of 1835 from District of Washington, 1835; delegate to Texas Republic Republic constitutional convention from District of Washington, 1836; signer, Texas Declaration of Independence, 1836; member of Texas Republic Senate, 1836-37, 1844-45; member of Texas Republic House of Representatives, 1841-43. Died March 15, 1866 (age 78 years, 37 days). Original interment at John McGinty Cemetery; reinterment in 1929 at Texas State Cemetery, Austin, Tex.
      Grimes County, Tex. is named for him.

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/TX/GI-buried.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]