The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Politicians in Manufacturing in Tennessee
not elsewhere classified

  George R. Dempster (1887-1964) — of Knoxville, Knox County, Tenn. Born in Knoxville, Knox County, Tenn., 1887. Democrat. Manufacturer; inventor of Dempster Dumpster; mayor of Knoxville, Tenn., 1952-55. Died in 1964 (age about 77 years). Burial location unknown.
Robert Bradley Hawley Robert Bradley Hawley (1849-1921) — also known as R. B. Hawley — of Galveston, Galveston County, Tex. Born in Memphis, Shelby County, Tenn., October 25, 1849. Republican. Merchant; importer; manufacturer; delegate to Republican National Convention from Texas, 1896, 1904; U.S. Representative from Texas 10th District, 1897-1901. Died in New York, New York County, N.Y., November 28, 1921 (age 72 years, 34 days). Interment at Lakeview Cemetery, Galveston, Tex.
  See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page
  Image source: Autobiographies and Portraits of the President, Cabinet, etc. (1899)
  Joseph Jacques (1825-1883) — of Knoxville, Knox County, Tenn. Born in England, 1825. Manufacturer; banker; mayor of Knoxville, Tenn., 1858, 1878. Died in 1883 (age about 58 years). Interment at Old Gray Cemetery, Knoxville, Tenn.
  Thomas Erby Kilby (1865-1943) — also known as Thomas E. Kilby — of Anniston, Calhoun County, Ala. Born in Lebanon, Wilson County, Tenn., July 9, 1865. Democrat. Manufacturer; mayor of Anniston, Ala., 1905-09; member of Alabama state senate, 1911-15; Lieutenant Governor of Alabama, 1915-19; Governor of Alabama, 1919-23; delegate to Democratic National Convention from Alabama, 1924. Episcopalian. Member, Freemasons; Shriners; Knights of Pythias. Died October 22, 1943 (age 78 years, 105 days). Interment at Highland Cemetery Annex, Anniston, Ala.
  Relatives: Son of Peyton Phillips Kilby and Sarah Ann (Marchant) Kilby; married to Mary Elizabeth Clark.
  See also National Governors Association biography
  Lawrence Davis Tyson (1861-1929) — also known as Lawrence D. Tyson — of Knoxville, Knox County, Tenn. Born in Greenville, Pitt County, N.C., July 4, 1861. Democrat. University professor; lawyer; president, Knoxville Cotton Mills, Knoxville Spinning Co., Poplar Creek Coal and Iron Co., Lenoir City Land Co., East Tennessee Coal and Iron Co., Coal Creek Mining and Manufacturing Co.; colonel in the U.S. Army during the Spanish-American War; member of Tennessee state house of representatives, 1903-05; Speaker of the Tennessee State House of Representatives, 1903-05; delegate to Democratic National Convention from Tennessee, 1908; general in the U.S. Army during World War I; candidate for Democratic nomination for Vice President, 1920; U.S. Senator from Tennessee, 1925-29; died in office 1929. Episcopalian. Member, Sons of the Revolution. Died in 1929 (age about 67 years). Interment at Old Gray Cemetery, Knoxville, Tenn.
  Relatives: Son of Richard Lawrence Tyson and Margaret Louise (Turnage) Tyson; married, February 10, 1886, to Bettie Humes McGhee.
  See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page
  John S. Van Gilder (1825-1902) — of Knoxville, Knox County, Tenn. Born in New Jersey, 1825. Manufacturer; banker; mayor of Knoxville, Tenn., 1870-72. Died in 1902 (age about 77 years). Interment at Old Gray Cemetery, Knoxville, Tenn.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/TN/manufacturing.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]