The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Tennessee: House Speakers

Speakers of the Tennessee State House of Representatives, 1796-1971 (May be incomplete!)
James Stuart 1796-99 William Dickson 1799-1803 James Stuart 1803-05 Robert C. Foster 1805-07 John Tipton 1807-09 Joseph Dickson 1809-11 John Cocke 1811-13 Thomas Claiborne 1813-15 James Fentress 1815-17 Thomas Williamson 1817-19 James Fentress 1819-25 William Brady 1825-27 John H. Camp 1827-29 Ephraim H. Foster 1829-31 Frederick W. Huling 1831-35 Ephraim H. Foster 1835-37 John Cocke 1837-39 Jonas E. Thomas 1839-41 Burchet Douglass 1841-42 Franklin Buchanan 1842-43 Daniel L. Barringer 1843-45 Brookins Campbell 1845-47 Franklin Buchanan 1847-49 Landon C. Haynes 1849-51 Jordan Stokes 1851-53 William H. Wisener 1853-55 Neill S. Brown 1855-57 Daniel S. Donelson 1857-59 Washington C. Whitthorne 1859-61 Edwin A. Keeble 1861-62 William Heiskell 1865-67 F. S. Richards 1867-69 William O'Neil Perkins 1869-71 James D. Richardson 1871-73 W. S. McGaughey 1873-75 Lewis Bond 1875-77 Edwin T. Taliaferro 1877-79 Henry P. Fowlkes 1879-81 H. B. Ramsey 1881-83 W. L. Ledgerwood 1883-85 James A. Manson 1885-87 W. L. Clapp 1887-91 Thomas R. Myers 1891-93 Ralph Davis 1893 J. A. Trousdale 1893-95 John A. Tipton 1895-97 Morgan C. Fitzpatrick 1897-99 Joseph W. Byrns 1899-1901 E. B. Wilson 1901-03 Lawrence D. Tyson 1903-05 Will Kendall Abernathy 1905-07 John T. Cunningham, Jr. 1907-09 M. Hillsman Taylor 1909-11 A. M. Leach 1911-13 W. M. Stanton 1913-15 William P. Cooper 1915-17 Clyde Shropshire 1917-19 Seth M. Walker 1919-21 Andrew L. Todd 1921-23 Frank S. Hall 1923-25 William Francis Barry, Jr. 1925-27 Selden Maiden 1927-29 Charles H. Love 1929-31 Walter M. Haynes 1931-33 Frank W. Moore 1933-35 Walter M. Haynes 1935-39 John Ed O'Dell 1939-43 James J. Broome 1943-45 George Woods 1945-47 W. Buford Lewallen 1947-49 McAllen Foutch 1949-53 James L. Bomar, Jr. 1953-55 William L. Jenkins 1969-71

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/TN/ofc/hspkr.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]