The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Hamblen County

Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in Hamblen County

Index to Locations

  • Unknown location
  • Morristown Emma Jarnagin Cemetery
  • Panther Springs Senter Memorial Church Cemetery

    Unknown Location
    Hamblen County,

    Emma Jarnagin Cemetery
    Morristown, Hamblen County, Tennessee
    See also Findagrave page for this location.
    Politicians buried here:
      DeWitt Clinton Senter (1830-1898) — of Tennessee. Born in McMinn County, Tenn., March 26, 1830. Speaker of the Tennessee State Senate, 1867-69; Governor of Tennessee, 1869-71. Died in Morristown, Hamblen County, Tenn., June 14, 1898 (age 68 years, 80 days). Interment at Emma Jarnagin Cemetery.
      Presumably named for: DeWitt Clinton
      Relatives: Married to Harriet Tandy Senter (1841-1916).
      See also National Governors Association biography — Find-A-Grave memorial
      Herbert Sanford Walters (1891-1973) — also known as Herbert S. Walters — of Morristown, Hamblen County, Tenn. Born in Leadvale, Jefferson County, Tenn., November 17, 1891. Democrat. Engineer for railroads; general contractor; banker; member of Tennessee state house of representatives, 1933; member of Tennessee Democratic State Executive Committee, 1934-47; delegate to Democratic National Convention from Tennessee, 1936, 1940, 1944; Tennessee Democratic state chair, 1940-44, 1953-55; member of Democratic National Committee from Tennessee, 1945-47, 1956-67; U.S. Senator from Tennessee, 1963-65; appointed 1963. Baptist or Presbyterian. Member, Freemasons; Elks; Kiwanis. Died in Knoxville, Knox County, Tenn., August 17, 1973 (age 81 years, 273 days). Interment at Emma Jarnagin Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of John Milo Walters and Lula (Franklin) Walters; married, July 23, 1928, to Sarah Buckman Lockridge.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page — Find-A-Grave memorial
      William McFarland (1821-1900) — of Morristown, Hamblen County, Tenn. Born near Morristown, Hamblen County, Tenn., September 15, 1821. Democrat. U.S. Representative from Tennessee 1st District, 1875-77; mayor of Morristown, Tenn., 1870. Slaveowner. Died in Morristown, Hamblen County, Tenn., April 12, 1900 (age 78 years, 209 days). Interment at Emma Jarnagin Cemetery.
      Relatives: Married to Nancy Areta Turley (1829-1883).
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page — Find-A-Grave memorial
      Vinson Martlow Whitley (1855-1947) — of Red Boiling Springs, Macon County, Tenn.; Morristown, Hamblen County, Tenn. Born in Red Boiling Springs, Macon County, Tenn., August 12, 1855. School teacher; lawyer; real estate business; member of Tennessee state house of representatives, 1893-95. Missionary Baptist. Died, from chronic glomerular nephritis, in Morristown, Hamblen County, Tenn., August 26, 1947 (age 92 years, 14 days). Interment at Emma Jarnagin Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of Wiley A. Whitley (1829-1905) and Lucinda (Chitwood) Whitley (1835-1896); married, June 17, 1894, to Maggie Bell Hale (1873-1948); second cousin thrice removed of Philip Key and Philip Barton Key (1757-1815); third cousin twice removed of Francis Scott Key; fourth cousin once removed of Philip Barton Key (1818-1859).
      Political family: Pendleton-Lee family of Maryland (subset of the Three Thousand Related Politicians).

    Senter Memorial Church Cemetery
    Panther Springs, Hamblen County, Tennessee
    Politicians buried here:
      William Tandy Senter (1801-1848) — of Tennessee. Born in Tennessee, 1801. U.S. Representative from Tennessee 2nd District, 1843-45. Slaveowner. Died in 1848 (age about 47 years). Interment at Senter Memorial Church Cemetery.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/TN/HM-buried.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]