The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Tennessee: Senate Speakers

Speakers of the Tennessee State Senate, 1796-1955 (May be incomplete!)
James Winchester 1796-97 James White 1797-98 William Blount 1798-99 Alexander Outlaw 1799-1801 James White 1801-05 Joseph McMinn 1805-11 Thomas Henderson 1811-13 Robert C. Foster 1813-15 Edward Ward 1815-19 Robert Weakley 1819-21 Sterling Brewer 1821-23 Robert Weakley 1823-25 Robert C. Foster 1825-27 William Hall 1827-29 Joel Walker 1829-31 Burchet Douglass 1831-33 David Burford 1833-35 Jonathan Webster 1835-37 Terry H. Cahal 1837-39 Thomas Love 1839 L. H. Coe 1839-41 Samuel Turney 1841-43 Josiah M. Anderson 1843-45 Harvey M. Watterson 1845-47 Josiah M. Anderson 1847-49 John F. Henry 1849-51 M. R. Hill 1851-53 Edwin Polk 1853-55 Edward S. Cheatham 1855-57 John C. Burch 1857-59 Tazewell W. Newman 1859-61 B. L. Stovall 1861 Edward S. Cheatham 1861-62 Samuel R. Rodgers 1865 Joshua B. Frierson 1865-67 DeWitt Clinton Senter 1867-69 P. P. C. Nelson 1869 Dorsey B. Thomas 1869-71 John C. Vaughn 1871-73 A. T. Lacey 1873-75 Thomas H. Paine 1875-77 Hugh M. McAdoo 1877-79 John R. Neal 1879-81 George H. Morgan 1881-83 Benjamin F. Alexander 1883-85 C. R. Barry 1885-87 Z. W. Ewing 1887-89 Benjamin J. Lea 1889-91 William C. Dismukes 1891-95 Ernest Pillow 1895-97 John Thompson 1897-99 Seid Waddell 1899-1901 Newton H. White 1901-03 E. T. Seay 1903-05 John I. Cox 1905 Ernest Rice 1905-07 E. G. Tollett 1907-09 William Kinney 1909-11 Nathaniel Baxter, Jr. 1911-13 Newton H. White 1913-15 Hugh Crump Anderson 1915 Albert E. Hill 1915-17 W. R. Crabtree 1917-19 Andrew L. Todd 1919-21 W. W. Bond 1921-23 Eugene J. Bryan 1923-25 L. D. Hill 1925-27 Henry H. Horton 1927 Sam R. Bratton 1929-31 Scott Fitzhugh 1931 A. B. Broadbent 1931-33 A. F. Officer 1933-35 William P. Moss 1935-36 Byron Pope 1936-39 Blan R. Maxwell 1939-45 Larry Morgan 1945-47 George O. Benton 1947-49 Walter M. Haynes 1949-53 Jared Maddux 1953-55

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1915 Mar 1: Hugh Crump Anderson, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/TN/ofc/sspkr.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]