The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Hickman County

Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in Hickman County

Index to Locations

  • Centerville Unknown location
  • Centerville Centerville Cemetery
  • Centerville Harpeth Hills Memory Gardens

    Unknown Location
    Centerville, Hickman County, Tennessee
    Politicians buried here:
      James Sherman Beasley (1873-1925) — also known as J. S. Beasley — of Centerville, Hickman County, Tenn.; Nashville, Davidson County, Tenn. Born in Smith County, Tenn., August 14, 1873. Republican. Lawyer; delegate to Republican National Convention from Tennessee, 1900 (alternate), 1916; chairman, Tennessee Board of Prison Commissioners. Died, from parenchymatous nephritis, in Nashville, Davidson County, Tenn., March 17, 1925 (age 51 years, 215 days). Interment somewhere.
      Relatives: Son of Jesse Beasley and Nancy (Dickerson) Beasley; brother of John Snodgrass Beasley; married, August 14, 1898, to Minnie Edwards.

    Centerville Cemetery
    Centerville, Hickman County, Tennessee
    See also Findagrave page for this location.
    Politicians buried here:
      John Snodgrass Beasley (1880-1957) — also known as John S. Beasley — of Centerville, Hickman County, Tenn. Born in Pleasant Shade, Smith County, Tenn., 1880. Republican. Physician; delegate to Republican National Convention from Tennessee, 1924. Died in Centerville, Hickman County, Tenn., December 25, 1957 (age about 77 years). Interment at Centerville Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of Jesse Beasley and Nancy (Dickerson) Beasley; brother of James Sherman Beasley.
      Political family: Beasley family of Nashville and Centerville, Tennessee.
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial

    Harpeth Hills Memory Gardens
    Centerville, Hickman County, Tennessee
    Politicians buried here:
      Harlan Mathews (1927-2014) — of Tennessee. Born in Sumiton, Walker County, Ala., January 17, 1927. Democrat. Lawyer; Tennessee state treasurer, 1975-86; candidate for Presidential Elector for Tennessee; U.S. Senator from Tennessee, 1993-94; appointed 1993. Died May 9, 2014 (age 87 years, 112 days). Interment at Harpeth Hills Memory Gardens.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page — NNDB dossier
      Kenneth N. Springer (1945-2000) — also known as Pete Springer — of Centerville, Hickman County, Tenn. Born in Lyles, Hickman County, Tenn., February 27, 1945. Democrat. School teacher; member of Tennessee state senate 25th District, 1981-82, 1991-2000; died in office 2000; delegate to Democratic National Convention from Tennessee, 1996. Church of Christ. Member, Freemasons; Knights Templar; Shriners. Died, apparently of heart disease, in Nashville, Davidson County, Tenn., April 12, 2000 (age 55 years, 45 days). Interment at Harpeth Hills Memory Gardens.

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/TN/HI-buried.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]