The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Tennessee: State Senate

Members of the Tennessee State Senate, 1796-2014 (May be incomplete!)

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1800 Mar 21: William Blount, died in office.
  • 1867 Jan 11: Almon Case, died in office.
  • 1884: Joseph D. Montedonico, elected.
  • 1884 Oct 17: Thomas J. R. Swafford, died in office.
  • 1902: Daniel E. Garrett, elected.
  • 1904: Daniel E. Garrett, elected.
  • 1915 Mar 1: Hugh Crump Anderson, died in office.
  • 1946 Nov 5: Hubert C. Brooks, elected unopposed. William Buckles, elected; Joseph H. Quillen, defeated. John Lee West, elected unopposed. R. W. Smith, elected unopposed. Ed Giffin, elected; Robert Taylor Mann, defeated; Andrew Jackson Graves, defeated. Hugh Callaway, elected; James G. Crumbliss, defeated. J. P. Cartwright, elected; Hardwick Stuart, defeated. J. Clifford Curry, elected unopposed. Robert W. Kemmer, elected; Brownlow R. Wyatt, defeated. J. H. Reneau, Jr., elected unopposed. Roy Wiseman, elected unopposed. James H. Cummings, elected unopposed. Willard Hagan, elected unopposed. Aubrey L. West, elected unopposed. Austin Peay, Jr., elected unopposed. Carmack Cochran, elected unopposed. J. Olin White, elected unopposed. James L. Bomar, Jr. (Dem), elected unopposed. Hale Hawkins, elected unopposed. E. E. Loftin, elected unopposed. John S. Thomason, elected unopposed. Hayes Gordon, elected unopposed. W. H. Wiseman, elected unopposed. G. C. 'Buck' Crider, elected; W. W. Boaz, defeated. George O. Benton, elected unopposed. Wyly C. Lockhart, elected unopposed. Z. D. Atkins, elected unopposed. Charles B. Fields, elected unopposed. Clark P. Moss, elected unopposed. Blanchard Tual, elected unopposed. James Brister, elected unopposed. Perry Pipkin, elected unopposed. Harry U. Scruggs, elected unopposed.
  • 1974 Nov 5: Marshall T. Nave (Rep), elected; Marion Palmer (Dem), defeated. Tom Garland (Rep), elected unopposed. Ben W. Hooper III (Rep), elected; John M. Rucker, Jr. (Dem), defeated. Ray R. Baird (Dem), elected; Paul D. Tindell (Rep), defeated. Martha Ashe (Rep), elected; Betty Cathey (Dem), defeated; Jack Comer (Ind), defeated.
  • 1998 Oct 19: Tommy Burks, died in office.
  • 1998 Nov 3: Charlotte Gentry Burks, elected; Byron Low Tax Looper (Rep), defeated.
  • 1998: Denise Houston Joyner (Rep), defeated.
  • 2000 Apr 12: Kenneth N. Springer, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/TN/ofc/stsen.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]