The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Lake County
South Dakota

Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in Lake County

Index to Locations

  • Madison Graceland Cemetery
  • Madison St. Thomas Cemetery

    Graceland Cemetery
    Madison, Lake County, South Dakota
    See also Findagrave page for this location.
    Politicians buried here:
      Karl Earl Mundt (1900-1974) — also known as Karl E. Mundt — of Madison, Lake County, S.Dak. Born in Humboldt, Minnehaha County, S.Dak., June 3, 1900. Republican. School teacher; superintendent of schools; real estate and insurance business; U.S. Representative from South Dakota 1st District, 1939-48; U.S. Senator from South Dakota, 1948-73; delegate to Republican National Convention from South Dakota, 1956. Member, Izaak Walton League; Kiwanis; Delta Sigma Rho; Pi Kappa Delta; Tau Kappa Alpha. Died in Washington, D.C., August 16, 1974 (age 74 years, 74 days). Interment at Graceland Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of F. J. Mundt and Rose E. Mundt; married 1924 to Mary Moses.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page — Find-A-Grave memorial
      Richard Barrett Lowe (1902-1972) — Born in Madison, Lake County, S.Dak., July 8, 1902. School teacher; superintendent of schools; served in the U.S. Navy during World War II; Governor of American Samoa, 1953-56; Governor of Guam, 1956-59. Died in Alexandria, Va., April 16, 1972 (age 69 years, 283 days). Interment at Graceland Cemetery.
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial
      Solomon Abraham Ayers (1854-1932) — also known as Solomon A. Ayers — of Madison, Lake County, S.Dak. Born in Cuba, Allegany County, N.Y., July 20, 1854. Republican. Member of South Dakota state house of representatives 19th District, 1893-94. Died in Madison, Lake County, S.Dak., September 10, 1932 (age 78 years, 52 days). Interment at Graceland Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of Uriah C. Ayers and Phoebe Ann (Hoag) Ayers; married, May 28, 1883, to Agnes Eleanor Ayers.
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial

    St. Thomas Cemetery
    Madison, Lake County, South Dakota
    Politicians buried here:
      John J. Fitzgerald (1854-1920) — of Madison, Lake County, S.Dak. Born in Iowa, 1854. Member of South Dakota state senate 16th District, 1893-94, 1899-1900. Died December 5, 1920 (age about 66 years). Interment at St. Thomas Cemetery.

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/SD/LK-buried.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]