The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
South Dakota: U.S. Senators

U.S. Senators from South Dakota, 1889-2018 (May be incomplete!)
Gideon C. Moody 1889-91 Richard F. Pettigrew 1889-1901 James H. Kyle 1891-1901 Robert J. Gamble 1901-13 A. B. Kittredge 1901-09 Coe I. Crawford 1909-15 Thomas Sterling 1913-25 Edwin S. Johnson 1915-21 Peter Norbeck 1921-36 William H. McMaster 1925-31 William J. Bulow 1931-43 Herbert E. Hitchcock 1936-38 Gladys Pyle 1938-39 J. Chandler Gurney 1939-51 Harlan J. Bushfield 1943-48 Vera Cahalan Bushfield 1948 Karl E. Mundt 1948-73 Francis Case 1951-62 Joe H. Bottum 1962-63 George McGovern 1963-81 James Abourezk 1973-79 Larry Pressler 1979-97 James Abdnor 1981-87 Thomas A. Daschle 1987- Tim Johnson 1997- Mike Rounds 2015-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1901 Jul 1: James H. Kyle, died in office.
  • 1914 Nov 3: Edwin S. Johnson (Dem), elected; Charles H. Burke (Rep), defeated; E. P. Johnson (Socialist), defeated; O. W. Butterfield (Prohibition), defeated; Henry L. Loucks (Ind), defeated.
  • 1918 Nov 5: Thomas Sterling (Rep), elected; W. T. Rinehart (Dem), defeated; Orville V. Rafferty (Ind), defeated.
  • 1920 Nov 2: Peter Norbeck (Rep), elected; Tom Ayres (Nonpartisan), defeated; U. S. G. Cherry (Dem), defeated; Richard O. Richards (Ind), defeated; L. J. Manbeck (Ind), defeated.
  • 1924 Nov 4: William H. McMaster (Rep), elected; U. S. G. Cherry (Dem), defeated; Tom Ayres (Farmer-Labor), defeated; George Egan (Ind), defeated; Charles H. Dillon (Ind), defeated; Henry L. Loucks (Ind), defeated; Don Livingston (Ind), defeated.
  • 1926 Nov 2: Peter Norbeck (Rep), elected; C. J. Gunderson (Dem), defeated; Howard Platt (Farmer-Labor), defeated.
  • 1930 May 6: William J. Bulow (Dem), nominated; James McNamara (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1930 May 6: William H. McMaster (Rep), nominated; George J. Danforth (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1930 Nov 4: William J. Bulow (Dem), elected; William H. McMaster (Rep), defeated.
  • 1936 Nov 3: William J. Bulow (Dem), elected; J. Chandler Gurney (Rep), defeated; Arthur Bennett (Ind), defeated.
  • 1936 Dec 20: Peter Norbeck, died in office.
  • 1938 May 3: Tom Berry (Dem), nominated; Fred H. Hildebrandt (Dem), defeated in primary; Herbert E. Hitchcock (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1938 May 3: J. Chandler Gurney (Rep), nominated; Leslie Jensen (Rep), defeated in primary; George J. Danforth (Rep), defeated in primary; Paul E. Bellamy (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1938 Nov 8: Gladys Pyle (Rep), elected; John T. McCullen (Dem), defeated.
  • 1938 Nov 8: J. Chandler Gurney (Rep), elected; Tom Berry (Dem), defeated.
  • 1942 Nov 3: Harlan J. Bushfield (Rep), elected; Tom Berry (Dem), defeated.
  • 1944 May 2: J. Chandler Gurney (Rep), nominated; A. C. Miller (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1944 Nov 7: J. Chandler Gurney (Rep), elected; George M. Bradshaw (Dem), defeated.
  • 1948 Sep 27: Harlan J. Bushfield, died in office.
  • 1950 Nov 7: Francis Case (Rep), elected; John A. Engel (Dem), defeated.
  • 1954 Nov 2: Karl E. Mundt (Rep), elected; Kenneth Holum (Dem), defeated.
  • 1962 Jun 22: Francis Case, died in office.
  • 1966 Nov 8: Karl E. Mundt (Rep), elected; Donn H. Wright (Dem), defeated.
  • 1968 Nov 5: George McGovern (Dem), elected; Archie M. Gubbrud (Rep), defeated.
  • 1972 Nov 7: James Abourezk (Dem), elected; Robert W. Hirsch (Rep), defeated.
  • 1974 Nov 5: George McGovern (Dem), elected; Leo K. Thorsness (Rep), defeated.
  • 1978 Nov 7: Larry Pressler (Rep), elected; Don Barnett (Dem), defeated.
  • 1980 Nov 4: James Abdnor (Rep), elected; George McGovern (Dem), defeated; Wayne Peterson (Ind), defeated.
  • 1984 Nov 6: Larry Pressler (Rep), elected; George V. Cunningham (Dem), defeated.
  • 1986 Nov 4: Thomas A. Daschle (Dem), elected; James Abdnor (Rep), defeated.
  • 1990 Nov 6: Larry Pressler (Rep), elected; Ted Muenster (Dem), defeated; Dean L. Sinclair (Ind), defeated.
  • 1992 Nov 3: Thomas A. Daschle (Dem), elected; Charlene Haar (Rep), defeated; Gus Hercules (Libertarian), defeated; Kent Hyde (Ind), defeated.
  • 1996 Nov 5: Tim Johnson (Dem), elected; Larry Pressler (Rep), defeated.
  • 1998 Nov 3: Thomas A. Daschle (Dem), elected; Ron Schmidt (Rep), defeated; Byron Dale (Libertarian), defeated.
  • 2002 Nov 5: Tim Johnson (Dem), elected; John R. Thune (Rep), defeated; Kurt Evans (Libertarian), defeated.
  • 2010 Nov 2: John R. Thune (Rep), elected unopposed.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/SD/ofc/ussen.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]