The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
American Samoa: Governors

Governors of American Samoa, 1900-2012 (May be incomplete!)
Benjamin Franklin Tilley 1900-01 Uriel Sebree 1901-02 Henry Minett 1902-03 Edmund Beardsley Underwood 1903-05 Charles B. T. Moore 1905-08 John F. Parker 1908-10 William Michael Crose 1910-13 Nathan Woodworth Post 1913 Clark Daniel Stearns 1913-14 Nathan Woodworth Post 1914 Charles A. Woodruff 1914-15 John M. Poyer 1915-19 Warren J. Terhune 1919-20 Waldo A. Evans 1920-22 Edwin Taylor Pollock 1922-23 Edward Stanley Kellogg 1923-25 Henry Francis Bryan 1925-27 Stephen Victor Graham 1927-29 Gatewood Sanders Lincoln 1929-31 James Sutherland Spore 1931 Arthur Tenney Emerson 1931 Gatewood Sanders Lincoln 1931-32 George Bertram Landenberger 1932-34 Thomas Calloway Latimore 1934 Otto Carl Dowling 1934-36 Thomas Benjamin Fitzpatrick 1936 MacGillivray Milne 1936-38 Edward William Hanson 1938-40 Jesse Rink Wallace 1940 Laurence Wild 1940-42 Henry L. Larsen 1942 Laurence Wild 1942 John Gould Moyer 1942-44 Allen Hobbs 1944-45 Ralph Waldo Hungerford 1945 Samuel Wakefield Canan 1945 Harold Alexander Houser 1945-47 Vernon Huber 1947-49 Thomas Francis Darden, Jr. 1949-51 Phelps Phelps 1951-52 John C. Elliott 1952 James Arthur Ewing 1952-53 Lawrence M. Judd 1953 Richard Barrett Lowe 1953-56 Peter Tali Coleman 1956-61 H. Rex Lee 1961-67 Owen S. Aspinall 1967-69 John Morse Haydon 1969-74 Frank C. Mockler 1974-75 Earl B. Ruth 1975-76 Frank Barnett 1976-77 H. Rex Lee 1977-78 Peter Tali Coleman 1978-85 A. P. Lutali 1985-89 Peter Tali Coleman 1989-93 A. P. Lutali 1993-97 Tauese P. F. Sunia 1997-2003 Togiola T. A. Tulafono 2003-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1920 Nov 3: Warren J. Terhune, died in office.
  • 1992: A. P. Lutali, elected.
  • 1996: A. P. Lutali, defeated.
  • 2003 Mar 26: Tauese P. F. Sunia, died in office.
  • 2004 Nov 16: Togiola T. A. Tulafono, elected; Afoa Moega Lutu, defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/AS/ofc/gov.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]