The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Montgomery County

Politicians who were born in Montgomery County

  Montgomery County (no city given): Frederick Conrad, 1759 — Jacob C. Isacks, c.1781 — John Reynolds, 1788 — Winfield S. Hancock, 1824 — John R. Brooke, 1838 — James R. Hallowell, 1841 — Clayton H. Alderfer, 1870 — John P. Welsh, c.1886
  Abington: William B. Pruner, c.1867 — Charles G. Douglas III, 1942 — Joanne Kleinhofer Benjamin, 1945 — Jon D. Fox, 1947 — Carolyn Baldwin McHugh, 1957 — Tom Feeney, 1958 — David Steele, 1968
  Ardmore: Edward Page, Jr., 1905
  Near Ardmore: Owen Jones, 1819
  Bala: John A. Lafore, Jr., 1905
  Bala Cynwyd: Alexander M. Haig, Jr., 1924
  Bryn Mawr: Douglas MacArthur II, 1909 — Brewster H. Morris, 1909 — Philip A. Hart, 1912 — Happy Rockefeller, 1926 — Robert E. Bauman, 1937 — Avis T. Bohlen, 1940 — Harvey Bartle III, 1941 — Dick Swett, 1957
  Cheltenham: Caspar Wistar Haines, 1853
  Cheltenham Township: Joel K. Mann, 1780
  Conshohocken: John H. Pitman, 1890
  Cynwyd: Hardie Scott, 1907
  Fort Washington: Quintin Mecke, 1972
  Goshenhoppen: John Hiester, 1745
  Hatboro: Joseph B. Yerkes, 1839 — Stephen D. Yerkes, 1849
  Horsham: Cyrus Cadwallader, 1763
  Lower Merion Township: Joseph Fornance, 1804
  Marlboro Township: Ephraim Acker, 1827
  Montgomery Square: Samuel Medary, 1801
  Narberth: John Hickenlooper, 1952
  New Hanover Township: John Hahn, 1776 — John F. Hartranft, 1830
  Norristown: George B. Porter, 1791 — John Freedley, 1793 — James Madison Porter, 1793 — William Moore, 1810 — George F. Huff, 1842 — Uriah P. Rossiter, 1861 — Theodore Lane Bean, 1878 — James S. Boyd, 1883 — Richard S. Schweiker, 1926 — Darlington Hoopes, Jr., 1927 — Anthony Joseph Scirica, 1940 — John F. Street, 1943 — Beth H. Harwell, 1957
  Near Norristown: Levi Pawling, 1773 — David Rittenhouse Porter, 1788
  Norriton Township: Mark Thomson, 1739
  North Glenside: Lewis T. Hubbs, 1923
  Plymouth Meeting: George C. Corson, 1889
  Pottstown: Matthias Richards, 1758 — Benjamin Markley Boyer, 1823 — Joel B. Erhardt, 1838 — Henry D. Saylor, 1857 — Ira W. Stratton, 1867
  Near Pottstown: Jacob Senewell Yost, 1801
  Providence Township: Israel Jacobs, 1726
  Royersford: Sylvia H. Rambo, 1936
  Skippack: Philip S. Markley, 1789 — James H. Wolfe, 1884
  Souderton: William H. Detweiler, 1893
  Trappe: John Peter Gabriel Muhlenberg, 1746 — Frederick Augustus Conrad Muhlenberg, 1750 — William R. Smith, 1787 — Jacob Fry, Jr., 1802
  Upper Merion: J. Aubrey Anderson, 1882
  Upper Providence: Samuel Gross, 1776
  Upper Salford Township: Daniel Hiester, 1747
  Near Willow Grove: Edwin Hallowell, 1844
  Wyncote: Curtis Bok, 1897
   See also Pennsylvania birthplaces not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/MO-born.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]