The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Phi Delta Theta
Politician members in Oregon

  Edward Flint Bailey (1891-1974) — also known as Edward F. Bailey — of Junction City, Lane County, Ore.; Portland, Multnomah County, Ore.; Eugene, Lane County, Ore. Born in Junction City, Lane County, Ore., February 25, 1891. Democrat. Lawyer; served in the U.S. Marine Corps during World War I; member of Oregon state house of representatives, 1923-24; member of Oregon state senate 3rd District, 1927-30; candidate for Governor of Oregon, 1930. Protestant. Member, Phi Delta Phi; Phi Delta Theta; Freemasons. Died in Eugene, Lane County, Ore., June 13, 1974 (age 83 years, 108 days). Cremated.
  Relatives: Son of Thomas Hollen Bailey and Anna Isabella (Flint) Bailey; married, October 25, 1919, to Helen Lee Rosenberg.
  See also Find-A-Grave memorial
  Daniel Boyd (b. 1875) — of Enterprise, Wallowa County, Ore. Born in Coshocton, Coshocton County, Ohio, December 5, 1875. Republican. Lawyer; mayor of Enterprise, Ore.; delegate to Republican National Convention from Oregon, 1912, 1916; candidate for Presidential Elector for Oregon; candidate for U.S. Representative from Oregon 2nd District, 1928. Presbyterian. Member, Freemasons; Knights of Pythias; Woodmen; Phi Delta Theta. Burial location unknown.
  Relatives: Married, December 26, 1900, to Mary Ethel Axtell.
  William Menzies McAllister (b. 1905) — also known as William M. McAllister — of Medford, Jackson County, Ore.; Salem, Marion County, Ore. Born in Portland, Multnomah County, Ore., November 2, 1905. Republican. Lawyer; member of Oregon state house of representatives, 1937-44; Speaker of the Oregon State House of Representatives, 1943-44; major in the U.S. Army during World War II; delegate to Republican National Convention from Oregon, 1948, 1952; member of Oregon state senate, 1949-50; justice of Oregon state supreme court, 1956-70; chief justice of Oregon state supreme court, 1959-66. Presbyterian. Member, American Bar Association; Phi Delta Theta; Delta Theta Phi; Freemasons; Shriners. Burial location unknown.
  Relatives: Son of William James McAllister and Mary (Menzies) McAllister; married, June 4, 1932, to Jean Middleton.
  Walter Andrew Swanson (1911-1983) — also known as Walter A. Swanson — of Springfield, Lane County, Ore. Born in Portland, Multnomah County, Ore., April 26, 1911. Democrat. Lumber business; candidate for U.S. Representative from Oregon 4th District, 1952. Member, Phi Delta Theta; Alpha Delta Sigma; Elks. Died in 1983 (age about 72 years). Burial location unknown.
  Relatives: Son of John Andrew Swanson and Augusta (Pearson) Swanson; married, September 17, 1939, to Shari Angela Reddy.
  William E. Walsh (b. 1903) — of Coos Bay, Coos County, Ore. Born in Oswego, Oswego County, N.Y., January 29, 1903. Republican. Lawyer; Coos County District Attorney, 1931-33; member of Oregon state senate, 1941-51; delegate to Republican National Convention from Oregon, 1952 (member, Credentials Committee; speaker); co-owner, Radio Station KWRO, Coquille, Ore. Member, American Bar Association; Freemasons; Order of the Eastern Star; Shriners; Elks; Phi Delta Theta. Burial location unknown.
  Relatives: Son of William E. Walsh and Mary (Schneider) Walsh; married, August 5, 1932, to Marian Kardell.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/OR/phi-delta-theta.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]