The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Oregon: State Supreme Court

Justices of the Oregon State Supreme Court, 1859-1970 (May be incomplete!)
Reuben P. Boise 1859-72 Paine Paige Prim 1859-80 Riley E. Stratton 1859-66 Aaron E. Wait 1859-62 William W. Page 1862-64 Erasmus D. Shattuck 1862-68 Joseph G. Wilson 1862-70 Alonzo A. Skinner 1866-68 John Kelsey 1868-70 William W. Upton 1868-74 L. L. McArthur 1870-78 Andrew J. Thayer 1870-73 B. Whitten 1870-72 B. F. Bonham 1872-76 Lafayette Mosher 1872-74 John Burnett 1874-76 Erasmus D. Shattuck 1874-78 Reuben P. Boise 1876-80 J. F. Watson 1876-78 James K. Kelly 1878-80 William P. Lord 1880-94 John B. Waldo 1880-86 Edward B. Watson 1880-84 W. W. Thayer 1884-90 Reuben S. Strahan 1886-92 Robert S. Bean 1890-1909 F. A. Moore 1892-1918 Charles E. Wolverton 1894-1905 Thomas G. Hailey 1905-06 Robert Eakin 1907-17 William R. King 1909-10 Woodson T. Slater 1909-10 Thomas A. McBride 1909-30 Henry J. Bean 1911-41 George H. Burnett 1911-27 Charles L. McNary 1913-14 William M. Ramsey 1913-14 Henry L. Benson 1915-21 Lawrence T. Harris 1915-24 Wallace McCamant 1917-18 Charles A. Johns 1918-21 Conrad P. Olson 1918 Alfred S. Bennett 1919-20 George M. Brown 1920-33 John McCourt 1921-24 John L. Rand 1921-42 Oliver P. Coshow 1924-31 Martin L. Pipes 1924 Harry H. Belt 1925-50 George Rossman 1927-65 Percy R. Kelly 1930-49 James U. Campbell 1931-37 J. O. Bailey 1933-50 Hall S. Lusk 1937-60 James T. Brand 1941-58 Arthur D. Hay 1942-52 E. M. Page 1949-50 Earl C. Latourette 1950-56 Harold J. Warner 1950-63 Walter L. Tooze 1950-56 William C. Perry 1953- William M. McAllister 1956-70 Randall B. Kester 1957-58 Kenneth J. O'Connell 1958- Gordon Sloan 1958- Alfred T. Goodwin 1960-69 Arno H. Denecke 1963- Ralph M. Holman 1965-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1866 Dec 26: Riley E. Stratton, died in office.
  • 1873: Andrew J. Thayer, died in office.
  • 1905 Dec 4: Charles E. Wolverton, resigned; Thomas G. Hailey, appointed.
  • 1909 May 1: Robert S. Bean, resigned.
  • 1913 Jun 3: Charles L. McNary, appointed; William M. Ramsey, appointed.
  • 1917 Jan 8: Robert Eakin, resigned.
  • 1917 Jan 9: Wallace McCamant, appointed.
  • 1918 Jun 4: Wallace McCamant, resigned.
  • 1918 Sep 25: F. A. Moore, died in office.
  • 1920 Oct 5: Alfred S. Bennett, resigned.
  • 1921 Oct 7: Charles A. Johns, resigned.
  • 1921 Oct 16: Henry L. Benson, died in office.
  • 1924 Jan 15: Lawrence T. Harris, resigned.
  • 1924 Sep 12: John McCourt, died in office.
  • 1927 Sep 10: George H. Burnett, died in office.
  • 1927 Sep 22: George Rossman, appointed.
  • 1928 May 18: John L. Rand (Dem), nominated; George Rossman (Dem), nominated; L. H. McMahan (Dem), defeated in primary; Richard W. Montague (Dem), defeated in primary; Lotus L. Langley (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1928 May 18: George Rossman (Rep), nominated; John L. Rand (Rep), nominated; L. H. McMahan (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1928 Nov 6: George Rossman (Rep), elected; John L. Rand (Rep), elected; Loyal M. Graham (Ind), defeated; Gilbert E. Hamaker (Ind), defeated; J. E. Hosmer (Socialist Principle Independent), defeated; G. L. Perrine (Socialist Principle Independent), defeated.
  • 1930 Sep 9: Thomas A. McBride, died in office.
  • 1930 Sep 24: Percy R. Kelly, appointed.
  • 1937 Jul 16: James U. Campbell, died in office.
  • 1938 May 20: Henry J. Bean, nominated; Howard K. Zimmerman, nominated; John W. McCulloch, defeated in primary; Roy R. Hewitt, defeated in primary; George T. Cochran, defeated in primary.
  • 1938 May 20: J. O. Bailey, nominated; B. S. Martin, defeated in primary.
  • 1938 May 20: Hall S. Lusk, nominated; Isaac H. Van Winkle, defeated in primary; James T. Chinnock, defeated in primary.
  • 1938 Nov 8: Henry J. Bean, elected; Howard K. Zimmerman, defeated.
  • 1938 Nov 8: J. O. Bailey, elected unopposed.
  • 1938 Nov 8: Hall S. Lusk, elected unopposed.
  • 1941 May 8: Henry J. Bean, died in office.
  • 1942 Nov 19: John L. Rand, died in office.
  • 1949 Jun 14: Percy R. Kelly, died in office.
  • 1950 Jan 18: E. M. Page, retired.
  • 1950 Aug 6: Harry H. Belt, died in office.
  • 1950 Aug 9: Harold J. Warner, appointed.
  • 1950 Nov 7: Harold J. Warner, elected.
  • 1950 Nov 15: J. O. Bailey, retired.
  • 1952 Dec 19: Arthur D. Hay, died in office.
  • 1956 Aug 18: Earl C. Latourette, died in office.
  • 1956 Dec 21: Walter L. Tooze, died in office.
  • 1958 Mar 1: Randall B. Kester, resigned.
  • 1960 Mar 15: Hall S. Lusk, retired.
  • 1963: Harold J. Warner, resigned.
  • 1964 Nov 3: Kenneth J. O'Connell, elected unopposed.
  • 1964 Nov 3: Gordon Sloan, elected unopposed.
  • 1964 Nov 3: Ralph M. Holman, elected; Edward H. Howell, defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/OR/ofc/spju.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]