The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Oregon: Governors

Governors of Oregon, 1858-2008 (May be incomplete!)
John Whiteaker 1859-62 A. C. Gibbs 1862-66 George L. Woods 1866-70 La Fayette Grover 1870-77 Stephen F. Chadwick 1877-78 W. W. Thayer 1878-82 Zenas Ferry Moody 1882-87 Sylvester Pennoyer 1887-95 William P. Lord 1895-99 Theodore T. Geer 1899-1903 George E. Chamberlain 1903-09 Frank W. Benson 1909-10 Jay Bowerman 1910-11 Oswald West 1911-15 James Withycombe 1915-19 Ben W. Olcott 1919-23 Walter M. Pierce 1923-27 I. L. Patterson 1927-29 A. W. Norblad 1929-31 Julius L. Meier 1931-35 Charles H. Martin 1935-39 Charles A. Sprague 1939-43 Earl Snell 1943-47 John H. Hall 1947-49 Douglas McKay 1949-52 Paul L. Patterson 1952-56 Elmo Smith 1956-57 Robert D. Holmes 1957-59 Mark O. Hatfield 1959-67 Thomas Lawson McCall 1967-75 Robert W. Straub 1975-79 Victor Atiyeh 1979-87 Neil Goldschmidt 1987-91 Barbara Roberts 1991-95 John A. Kitzhaber 1995- Ted Kulongoski 2003-08

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1858: John Whiteaker (Dem), elected.
  • 1862: A. C. Gibbs (Rep), elected.
  • 1866: George L. Woods (Rep), elected.
  • 1870: La Fayette Grover (Dem), elected.
  • 1874: La Fayette Grover (Dem), elected.
  • 1877 Feb 1: La Fayette Grover, resigned.
  • 1878: W. W. Thayer (Dem), elected.
  • 1882: Zenas Ferry Moody (Rep), elected; Joseph S. Smith (Dem), defeated.
  • 1886: Sylvester Pennoyer, elected.
  • 1890: David P. Thompson (Rep), defeated; Sylvester Pennoyer, elected.
  • 1894: William P. Lord (Rep), elected.
  • 1898: Theodore T. Geer (Rep), elected; William R. King (Dem), defeated.
  • 1902: George E. Chamberlain (Dem), elected.
  • 1906: George E. Chamberlain (Dem), elected.
  • 1906 Jun 4: James Withycombe (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1909 Feb 28: George E. Chamberlain, resigned.
  • 1910 Nov 8: Oswald West (Dem), elected; Jay Bowerman (Rep), defeated; W. S. Richards (Socialist), defeated; A. E. Eaton (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1914 Nov 3: James Withycombe (Rep), elected; C. J. Smith (Dem), defeated; W. J. Smith (Socialist), defeated; W. S. U'Ren (Ind), defeated; F. M. Gill (Progressive), defeated; Will E. Purdy (Nonpartisan), defeated.
  • 1918 Nov 5: James Withycombe (Rep), elected; Walter M. Pierce (Dem), defeated; B. F. Ramp (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1919 Mar 3: James Withycombe, died in office.
  • 1922 Nov 7: Walter M. Pierce (Dem), elected; Ben W. Olcott (Rep), defeated.
  • 1926 Nov 2: I. L. Patterson (Rep), elected; Walter M. Pierce (Dem), defeated; H. H. Stallard (Ind), defeated.
  • 1929 Dec 21: I. L. Patterson, died in office.
  • 1930 Nov 4: Julius L. Meier (Ind), elected; Edward F. Bailey (Dem), defeated; Phil Metschan, Jr. (Rep), defeated; Albert Streiff (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1934: Charles H. Martin (Dem), elected.
  • 1938 May 20: Henry L. Hess (Dem), nominated; Charles H. Martin (Dem), defeated in primary; O. Henry Oleen (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1938 May 20: Charles A. Sprague (Rep), nominated; Sam H. Brown (Rep), defeated in primary; Clarence R. Wagoner (Rep), defeated in primary; Charles L. Paine (Rep), defeated in primary; Henry M. Hanzen (Rep), defeated in primary; J. W. Morton (Rep), defeated in primary; M. S. Schrock (Rep), defeated in primary; R. J. Hendricks (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1938 Nov 8: Charles A. Sprague (Rep), elected; Henry L. Hess (Dem), defeated.
  • 1942: Earl Snell (Rep), elected; Lew Wallace (Dem), defeated.
  • 1946: Earl Snell (Rep), elected.
  • 1947 Oct 28: Earl Snell, died in office.
  • 1948: Douglas McKay (Rep), elected; Lew Wallace (Dem), defeated.
  • 1950: Douglas McKay (Rep), elected.
  • 1952 Dec 27: Douglas McKay, resigned.
  • 1954 Nov 2: Paul L. Patterson (Rep), elected; Joseph K. Carson, Jr. (Dem), defeated.
  • 1956 Jan 31: Paul L. Patterson, died in office.
  • 1956 May 18: Elmo Smith (Rep), nominated.
  • 1956 Nov 6: Elmo Smith (Rep), defeated; Robert D. Holmes (Dem), elected.
  • 1958: Mark O. Hatfield (Rep), elected.
  • 1962: Mark O. Hatfield (Rep), elected.
  • 1962 May 18: Daniel N. Cox (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1962 May 18: Herbert George Altvater (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1966: Robert W. Straub, defeated.
  • 1974: Robert W. Straub, elected; Victor Atiyeh (Rep), defeated.
  • 1978: Robert W. Straub, defeated.
  • 1982 May 18: Walter Huss (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1998 May 23: Walter Huss (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/OR/ofc/gov.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]