The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Prince George's County

Politicians who died in Prince George's County

  Prince George's County (no city given): Allen Bowie Duckett, 1809 — Walter Bowie, 1810 — Archibald Van Horne, 1817 — Robert Bowie, 1818 — Jonathan Cilley, 1838 — Gabriel Duvall, 1844 — Robert W. Bowie, 1848 — Samuel Sprigg, 1855 — Charles Benedict Calvert, 1864 — James Sewall Morsell, 1870 — William H. Daingerfield, 1878 — Oden Bowie, 1894
  Adelphi: Lincoln MacVeagh, 1972
  Bladensburg: Benjamin Stoddert, 1813 — Armistead T. Mason, 1819
  Near Bladensburg: Joseph Kent, 1837
  Branchville: Joseph W. McCorkle, 1884 — Van H. Manning, 1892
  Camp Springs: Melvin Price, 1988
  Clinton: Charles H. Wilson, 1984
  Forest Heights: John A. Blatnik, 1991
  Fort Washington: Alexander C. Magruder, 1853
  Near Fort Washington: Thomas Walker Gilmer, 1844 — Abel Parker Upshur, 1844 — Virgil Maxcy, 1844 — David Gardiner, 1844
  Hunt Valley: J. Edward Day, 1996
  Hyattsville: Thomas V. Smith, 1964
  Laurel: Barnes Compton, 1898 — Gustavus B. Timanus, 1941 — Breckinridge Long, 1958 — Cyprian O. Tilghman, 2009
  Mt. Rainier: Charles West Kendall, 1914
  Mitchellville: Walter H. Judd, 1994 — Maurice M. Bernbaum, 2008 — James Akins, 2010
  Muirkirk: Charles E. Coffin, 1912
  Oxon Hill: John Hanson, 1783
  Piscataway: Benedict J. Semmes, 1863
  Riverdale: Katharine K. Smith, 1996
  Surrattsville (now Clinton): John H. Surratt, 1862
  Upper Marlboro: Ransom Halloway, 1851 — Thomas Fielder Bowie, 1869 — Lansdale G. Sasscer, 1964
  Vansville: Hugh McCulloch, 1895
   See also Maryland deathplaces not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MD/PG-died.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]