The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Prince George's County

Prince George's County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Prince George's County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Prince George's County (incomplete!): Michael S. Steele, 1994-2000

Prince George's County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: William D. Bowie — John Contee
   1884, Chicago: Arthur P. Gorman
   1888, St. Louis: Arthur P. Gorman
   1904, St. Louis: Arthur P. Gorman
   1912, Baltimore: Arthur P. Gorman, Jr. — Aquilla T. Robinson
   1924, New York: M. Hampton Magruder — Lansdale G. Sasscer
   1928, Houston: M. Hampton Magruder
   1936, Philadelphia: Daisy LaCoppidan — M. Hampton Magruder — Frances McFadden — Lansdale G. Sasscer — William Stanley — Sumner Welles
   1940, Chicago: Frances McFadden — Sumner Welles
   1944, Chicago: T. Howard Duckett — John S. White
   1948, Philadelphia: T. Howard Duckett — Daisy LaCoppidan
   1952, Chicago: Thomas E. Jones — Herbert W. Reichelt — Lansdale G. Sasscer
   1956, Chicago: Stuart Richards
   1964, Atlantic City: Walter L. Green — Hervey Machen — Howard McGuigan — Eileen Moore — Alfred Scuderi — Carlton R. Sickles — Irvine H. Sprague — H. Winship Wheatley, Jr.
   1968, Chicago: Carlton R. Sickles
   1976, New York: Leo E. Green
   1988, Atlanta: Thomas L. Bass — Virginia Beauchamp — Wayne K. Curry — Thelma Dews — Parris N. Glendening — Hilda R. Pemberton — Benny L. Thayer — Decatur W. Trotter — Veronica Turner — Jo Anne Welsh — Floyd Wilson, Jr. — Albert R. Wynn
   1996, Chicago: James W. Allen, Jr. — Dorothy F. Bailey — Joanne C. Benson — Tom V. Clabby, Jr. — Ulysses Currie — Wayne K. Curry — Parris N. Glendening — Vivian Jenkins — George J. Kourpias — Gloria Lawlah — Mary B. Murphy — Manervia W. Riddick — Beatrice P. Tignor — Decatur W. Trotter — Albert R. Wynn
   2000, Los Angeles: Rushern L. Baker III — Wayne K. Curry — Carolyn J. B. Howard — Gloria Lawlah — Thomas V. Miller, Jr. — Beatrice P. Tignor
   2004, Boston: Rushern L. Baker III — Ted Besesparis — Brandi Calhoun — Justin Chappell — Maria Cordone — Jill Dickey — Camille Exum — Dawn Flythe — Michael Gollin — Mary Green — Carolyn J. B. Howard — Glenn Ivey — Jack Johnson — Gloria Lawlah — R. Michelle Melton — Richard P. Michalski — Melanie Lynn Miller — Thomas V. Miller, Jr. — John Porcari — Beatrice P. Tignor — Veronica Turner — Albert R. Wynn
   2008, Denver: Angela Alsobrooks — Rushern L. Baker III — Ben Barnes — Anthony Brown — Mark Cook — Mary Jane Coolen — Maria Cordone — Wayne K. Curry — Donna S. Edwards — Nathaniel Exum — Lauren D. Glover — Connie C. Goodly — Carolyn J. B. Howard — Jolene Ivey — Eric Johnson — Jack Johnson — Katina Rojas Joy — Len Lucchi — Richard P. Michalski — Darrell Miller — Joan B. Pitkin — Karren Pope-Onwukwe — Justin Ross — Roxanne Taylor
Republican National Conventions:
   1908, Chicago: George B. Merrick — Gustavus B. Timanus
   1912, Chicago: R. N. Ryan
   1916, Chicago: Francis S. Carmody
   1920, Chicago: Jeremiah Hawkins
   1924, Cleveland: Jeremiah Hawkins — Oliver Metzerott
   1928, Kansas City: Jeremiah Hawkins
   1932, Chicago: Oliver Metzerott
   1936, Cleveland: Jeremiah Hawkins — J. Wilson Ryon
   1940, Philadelphia: Arthur C. Keefer — Frank Small
   1944, Chicago: George T. Burroughs — Arthur C. Keefer
   1952, Chicago: Carlton Beall
   1960, Chicago: John Frank Lillard, Jr. — Woodrow Shriver
   1964, San Francisco: Janice C. Alcorn — Lawrence J. Hogan
   1972, Miami Beach: Gloria Baumgaertner — John B. Burcham, Jr. — Lawrence J. Hogan — Gerard F. Holcomb — Beth Jones — Erica G. Kenney — Edward A. Potts — Lucille Potts
   1988, New Orleans: James House — Gregory Washington
   2004, New York: Jason Fenwick — Jo Ann Fisher — M Jacqueline Gordon — Frederick Gray — Louis M. Pope
   2008, St. Paul: Paul Demos — Brian S. Kern — Don Michels — Heather Lynn Olsen — Meghan Sommers — John Tashuda
   2012, Tampa: Cathy Sue Bunge — Jo Ann Fisher
Whig National Conventions:
   1839, Harrisburg: Robert W. Bowie
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MD/PG-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]