The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
White County

Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in White County

Index to Locations

  • Beebe Beebe Cemetery
  • Kensett Kensett Cemetery
  • Searcy Oak Grove Cemetery

    Beebe Cemetery
    Beebe, White County, Arkansas
    See also Findagrave page for this location.
    Politicians buried here:
      William H. Abington (1870-1951) — also known as W. H. Abington — of Beebe, White County, Ark. Born in Tennessee, January 2, 1870. Democrat. Physician; member of Arkansas state senate, 1910; delegate to Democratic National Convention from Arkansas, 1928. Died in Beebe, White County, Ark., March 19, 1951 (age 81 years, 76 days). Interment at Beebe Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of William Thomas Abington and Mary Jane (Plant) Abington; married, March 31, 1896, to Minnie Mae Herndon; married 1902 to Sarah Ann Sands.
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial

    Kensett Cemetery
    Kensett, White County, Arkansas
    Politicians buried here:
      Wilbur Daigh Mills (1909-1992) — also known as Wilbur D. Mills — of Kensett, White County, Ark. Born in Kensett, White County, Ark., May 24, 1909. Democrat. State court judge in Arkansas, 1934-38; U.S. Representative from Arkansas 2nd District, 1939-77; delegate to Democratic National Convention from Arkansas, 1940, 1956; candidate for Democratic nomination for President, 1972. Methodist. Member, Freemasons. In October 1974, he was driving late at night in Washington, D.C. without lights on; when stopped by police, he was seen to be intoxicated and his face was bloody from a scuffle; an Argentine striptease artist named Fanne Fox leaped from his car and jumped into the nearby Tidal Basin; after this incident highlighted his alcoholism, he was forced to resign his powerful chairmanship of the Ways and Means Committee and seek treatment. Died in 1992 (age about 83 years). Interment at Kensett Cemetery.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page

    Oak Grove Cemetery
    Searcy, White County, Arkansas
    Politicians buried here:
      Stephen Brundidge Jr. (1857-1938) — of Searcy, White County, Ark. Born in Searcy, White County, Ark., January 1, 1857. Democrat. Lawyer; member of Arkansas Democratic State Central Committee, 1890-1901; U.S. Representative from Arkansas, 1897-1909 (6th District 1897-1903, 2nd District 1903-09); candidate for Governor of Arkansas, 1908; delegate to Democratic National Convention from Arkansas, 1912; candidate for U.S. Senator from Arkansas, 1918. Died in Searcy, White County, Ark., January 14, 1938 (age 81 years, 13 days). Interment at Oak Grove Cemetery.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/AR/WH-buried.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]