The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Ouachita County

Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in Ouachita County

Index to Locations

  • Camden Unknown location
  • Camden Greenwood Cemetery
  • Camden Oakland Cemetery

    Unknown Locations
    Camden, Ouachita County, Arkansas
    Politicians buried here:
      George Washington Hays (1863-1927) — also known as George W. Hays — of Arkansas. Born in Camden, Ouachita County, Ark., September 23, 1863. Democrat. Probate judge in Arkansas, 1900-05; circuit judge in Arkansas, 1906-13; Governor of Arkansas, 1913-17. Died in Little Rock, Pulaski County, Ark., September 15, 1927 (age 63 years, 357 days). Interment somewhere.
      Presumably named for: George Washington
      See also National Governors Association biography
      Benjamin Travis Laney (1896-1977) — also known as Ben Laney; "Business Ben" — of Camden, Ouachita County, Ark. Born November 25, 1896. Democrat. Governor of Arkansas, 1945-49; defeated in primary, 1952; delegate to Democratic National Convention from Arkansas, 1948. Died January 21, 1977 (age 80 years, 57 days). Interment somewhere.
      See also National Governors Association biography — NNDB dossier

    Greenwood Cemetery
    Camden, Ouachita County, Arkansas
    Politicians buried here:
      Osro Cobb (1904-1996) — of Caddo Gap, Montgomery County, Ark.; Little Rock, Pulaski County, Ark. Born May 28, 1904. Republican. Delegate to Republican National Convention from Arkansas, 1928, 1932, 1936 (member, Resolutions Committee), 1940, 1948, 1952 (member, Resolutions Committee); candidate for Governor of Arkansas, 1936; Arkansas Republican state chair, 1937-41; candidate for U.S. Representative from Arkansas 4th District, 1939; served in the U.S. Army during World War II; U.S. Attorney for the Eastern District of Arkansas, 1953-62; justice of Arkansas state supreme court, 1960. Died January 17, 1996 (age 91 years, 234 days). Interment at Greenwood Cemetery.
      Relatives: Married, September 15, 1938, to Audrey Umsted.
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial

    Oakland Cemetery
    Camden, Ouachita County, Arkansas
    Politicians buried here:
      James Thomas Elliott (1823-1875) — also known as James T. Elliott — of Arkansas. Born in Monroe County, Ga., April 22, 1823. Republican. Lawyer; president, Mississippi, Ouachita and Red River Railroad, 1858; circuit judge in Arkansas, 1865-66; newspaper editor; U.S. Representative from Arkansas 2nd District, 1869; defeated, 1868; member of Arkansas state senate, 1870; district judge in Arkansas 9th District, 1872-74. Died in Camden, Ouachita County, Ark., July 28, 1875 (age 52 years, 97 days). Interment at Oakland Cemetery.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page
      Porter Clay (1779-1850) — of Kentucky. Born in Hanover County, Va., 1779. Minister; Kentucky auditor of public accounts, 1810. Died in Camden, Ouachita County, Ark., February 16, 1850 (age about 70 years). Interment at Oakland Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of John Clay (1741-1781) and Elizabeth (Hudson) Clay (1750-1829); brother of Henry Clay (1777-1852); married, April 11, 1804, to Sophia Grosch (died 1829); married to Elizabeth Logan (1784-1863); uncle of Thomas Hart Clay, Henry Clay Jr. and James Brown Clay; granduncle of Henry Clay (1849-1884); first cousin once removed of Matthew Clay (1754-1815) and Green Clay; second cousin of Matthew Clay (c.1795-1827), Brutus Junius Clay (1808-1878) and Cassius Marcellus Clay (1810-1903); second cousin once removed of Brutus Junius Clay (1847-1932); second cousin thrice removed of Oliver Carroll Clay; second cousin four times removed of Archer Woodford; third cousin of Clement Comer Clay; third cousin once removed of Clement Claiborne Clay Jr..
      Political families: Clay family of Kentucky; Wilson-Dunn-Goodloe family of Indiana (subsets of the Three Thousand Related Politicians).

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/AR/OU-buried.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]