The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Ouachita County

Ouachita County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Ouachita County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Ouachita County (incomplete!): Lisa Harrelson, as of 2003

Ouachita County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1924, New York: John T. Burkett
   1928, Houston: Elbert Goodwin
   1936, Philadelphia: Gressie Carnes
   1944, Chicago: D. W. Harrell — John L. McClellan — R. B. Robins — Roy Sturgis
   1948, Philadelphia: Mrs. Jack Carnes — R. T. Fooks — John L. McClellan — C. E. Parker — R. B. Robins — Mrs. O. E. Westfall
   1952, Chicago: Mrs. Jack Carnes
   1956, Chicago: Mrs. Jack Carnes — Perry Dalton — Vernon McKimmey
   1968, Chicago: R. J. Hampton — Lloyd Lindsey — Mrs. Walter Tate
Republican National Conventions:
   1872, Philadelphia: H. A. Millen
   1876, Cincinnati: H. A. Millen
   1888, Chicago: D. W. Chandler
   1892, Minneapolis: Lewis J. Best — Alfred A. Tufts
   1896, St. Louis: D. W. Chandler — J. A. Freeman — J. B. Friedheim
   1900, Philadelphia: J. C. Russell
   1908, Chicago: J. C. Russell
   1912, Chicago: H. G. Friedheim — J. C. Russell
   1916, Chicago: H. G. Friedheim — J. C. Russell
   1920, Chicago: J. A. McLeod
   1928, Kansas City: P. C. Grayson — J. C. Russell
   1940, Philadelphia: C. I. Grayson
   1944, Chicago: C. I. Grayson — Hugh R. Hogg
   1948, Philadelphia: Hugh R. Hogg
   1952, Chicago: C. I. Grayson
   1956, San Francisco: C. F. Cromwell
   1964, San Francisco: Travis Beeson

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/AR/OU-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]