The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

West Virginia Democratic Party offices

Index of Politicians by Party Office Held

State Party Officers:

West Virginia Delegates to Democratic National Conventions: very incomplete!

West Virginia Democratic Party County Chairs: very incomplete!

Barbour - Berkeley - Boone - Braxton - Brooke - Cabell - Calhoun - Clay - Doddridge - Fayette - Gilmer - Grant - Greenbrier - Hampshire - Hancock - Hardy - Harrison - Jackson - Jefferson - Kanawha - Lewis - Lincoln - Logan - Marion - Marshall - Mason - McDowell - Mercer - Mineral - Mingo - Monongalia - Monroe - Morgan - Nicholas - Ohio - Pendleton - Pleasants - Pocahontas - Preston - Putnam - Raleigh - Randolph - Ritchie - Roane - Summers - Taylor - Tucker - Tyler - Upshur - Wayne - Webster - Wetzel - Wirt - Wood - Wyoming

Democratic state chairs, 1866-2008 (Incomplete!)

Daniel Lamb 1866-70 Lewis Baker 1872-76 Alexander Campbell 1876-80 Michael J. Reilly 1880-84 David H. Leonard 1884-88 Thomas S. Riley 1888-92 William E. Chilton 1892-96 Andrew Edmiston 1896-1900 James H. Miller 1900-04 John T. McGraw 1904-08 W. G. Bennett 1908-12 Stuart W. Walker 1912-13 Clem L. Shaver 1913-16 C. C. Lewis 1916 Clem L. Shaver 1916-20 J. Finley Dunlap 1920-28 Andrew Edmiston 1928-32 Robert G. Kelly 1932-36 R. Carl Andrews 1936-40 A. Hale Watkins 1940-44 Joe L. Smith 1944-47 R. D. Bailey 1947-48 J. Howard Myers 1948 Ernest L. Bailey 1948-52 J. Howard Myers 1952-56 Hulett C. Smith 1956-62 Robert P. McDonough 1962-64 James M. Sprouse 1965-68 Rudolph L. DiTrapano 1968-72 William E. Watson 1972-73 J. C. Dillon, Jr. 1973-75 Charles S. Smith 1980- Lloyd G. Jackson II as of 1988-90 G. Nick Casey, Jr. as of 2008

Democratic state vice-chairs, 1928-2008 (Incomplete!)

Charles Lively 1928-39 Sophia Benedum as of 1943 A. W. Paull, Sr. as of 1945-47 J. Howard Myers as of 1949 Robert D. Bailey as of 1964-67 Milton J. Ferguson as of 1964 Pat R. Hamilton as of 1969 James Pyles as of 1969 Belinda Biafore as of 2008

Members of Democratic National Committee, 1866-2008 (Incomplete!)

Thomas Sweeney 1866-68 John Hull 1868-72 John B. Hoge 1872-76 Alexander Campbell 1876-84 Lewis Baker 1884-88 William M. Clements 1888 Johnson N. Camden 1888-92 John Sheridan 1892-96 John T. McGraw 1896-1916 Clarence W. Watson 1916-18 John T. McGraw 1918-20 Rose McGraw 1920-24 Charles W. Osenton 1920-28 Mrs. Frank N. Mann 1924-28 Mrs. J. C. Burchinal 1928-36 Herbert Fitzpatrick 1928-36 Mrs. Douglas W. Brown 1936-40 Gory Hogg 1936-40 Mrs. A. S. Booker 1940-44 Arthur B. Koontz 1940-59 Mrs. Carl B. Galbraith 1944-52 Mrs. Lynn S. Hornor 1952-53 Violet Snedegar 1956-60 John E. Amos 1959-64 Mary Hart Davisson 1960-64 Robert P. McDonough 1964-65 Violet Snedegar 1964-68 John E. Amos 1965-68 Hilda S. Long 1968-72 Hulett C. Smith 1968-72 Rudolph L. DiTrapano 1972-73 Joanne Pownell Powell 1972-75 Martin Shaffer 1986-91 Charles S. Smith as of 1991 Mara L. Watson as of 1991 Charlotte Pritt as of 1996 Jim Bowen as of 2004 G. Nick Casey, Jr. as of 2004 Alice Travis Germond as of 2004 Emilie Holroyd as of 2004 Marie L. Prezioso as of 2004-08 Joe Manchin as of 2008 Pat Maroney as of 2008

Democratic state party secretaries, 1937-69 (Incomplete!)

Garda Bachtel as of 1937 Charles E. Arnold as of 1943-47 Walter T. Crofton, Jr. as of 1949 Hazel Starcher as of 1964-69

Democratic state party treasurers, 1945-69 (Incomplete!)

Charles E. Nethken as of 1945 Edwin Ratcliffe 1946-50 E. G. Otey as of 1964 Walter Dempsey as of 1967 Robert J. Burke as of 1969

Democratic state associate chairs, 1945-69 (Incomplete!)

Corinne Booker as of 1945 Lucille Short as of 1949 Anne Hearst as of 1964-67 Violet Snedegar as of 1969

Democratic state associate party secretaries, 1964-67 (Incomplete!)

Clara Lincoln as of 1964 Clara Lincoln Armstead as of 1967

Democratic state party parliamentarians, 1964-69 (Incomplete!)

Curtis B. Trent, Jr. as of 1964-67 Norris Kantor as of 1969

Democratic state party resident secretaries, 1964-67 (Incomplete!)

Walter R. Mitchell as of 1964-67

Members of Democratic State Executive Committee, 1876-1967 (Incomplete!)

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/D/WV.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]