The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Cabell County
West Virginia

Cabell County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Cabell County (incomplete!): Carney M. Layne, as of 1917 — C. Willkie Freeman, as of 1929 — Abe Forsythe, as of 1940-42 — Ernest E. Winters, as of 1945 — J. M. Donohoe, 1946 — Fred Rotroff, as of 1949 — Tom T. Baker, as of 1950 — Roy Carson, as of 1954 — James Ellis, as of 1955 — J. Hanly Morgan, as of 1961-63 — J. Hanly Morgan, as of 1968 — Lafe Chaffin, as of 1969-70 — Robert R. Nelson, as of 1972-83

Republican Party chairs in Cabell County (incomplete!): Will E. Neal, as of 1917 — Everett Leon Hogsett, 1928-34 — Jess Hammock, as of 1940-41 — Henry D. Hatfield, as of 1942 — James F. Edwards, as of 1945-46 — Martin V. Chapman, as of 1949-50 — W. M. 'Wiley' Johnson, as of 1952 — E. Garland Ray, as of 1954 — Harrison H. Lamb, as of 1961 — Joe Neal, as of 1962-63 — Clyde B. Pinson, as of 1969 — Jack Wendell Lee, as of 1973 — Clyde B. Pinson, as of 1975 — Betsy Gerber, as of 1983

Cabell County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1876, St. Louis: Henry C. Simms
   1916, St. Louis: Jefferson Newberry — John B. Stevenson
   1920, San Francisco: Jefferson Newberry — Oscar L. Stanard
   1924, New York: Mrs. Frank N. Mann — F. Witcher McCullough — John F. Ratcliff — Oscar L. Stanard — Charles R. Wilson
   1928, Houston: Lawrence J. Corbly — John L. Hawkins — Mrs. Frank N. Mann
   1932, Chicago: Mrs. Douglas W. Brown — Joseph H. Long — C. W. Starcher — Charles R. Wilson — L. L. Wilson
   1936, Philadelphia: Daniel W. Ambrose, Jr. — J. Patrick Beacom — Mrs. Douglas W. Brown — C. W. Starcher — Charles R. Wilson
   1940, Chicago: Daniel W. Ambrose, Jr. — J. Patrick Beacom — Catherine B. Enslow — Ruth Staley — Tracy T. Starcher
   1944, Chicago: Daniel W. Ambrose, Jr. — Mrs. Douglas W. Brown — Mary Elizabeth Poole — Buford C. Tynes
   1948, Philadelphia: Daniel W. Ambrose, Jr. — Mary Vinson Clark — Clinton A. Karr — Myrtle Lee — S. H. Long — Mrs. Walker Long — R. J. Wilkinson, Jr.
   1952, Chicago: Mary Vinson Clark — Robert C. Coakley — R. C. Curry — Catherine B. Enslow — Thomas W. Harvey — Edward V. Lee
   1956, Chicago: Virginia M. Adkins — Robert C. Coakley — R. C. Curry — William B. Fox
   1960, Los Angeles: M. G. 'Burnie' Burnside — H. F. Cansler — Woodrow G. Jefferson — Matthew A. Reece, Jr. — Lyle A. Smith
   1964, Atlantic City: Ken Hechler
   1968, Chicago: Ken Hechler
   1972, Miami Beach: James L. Bowen — Robert L. Childers — Ken Hechler — Homer Heck
   1976, New York: Robert L. Childers — Katina Cummings — Chris Sowards
   1980, New York: Ken Hechler
   1984, San Francisco: Ken Hechler
   1996, Chicago: Violet Midkiff
   2004, Boston: Woodrow Berry — Deborah Chapman
   2008, Denver: Betty Cleckley — Corley Dennison — Sue Hanshaw
Republican National Conventions:
   1900, Philadelphia: Eugene M. Campbell — Christopher H. Payne
   1904, Chicago: Charles M. Buck — J. L. Caldwell
   1908, Chicago: W. F. Hite
   1912, Chicago: C. C. Barnett — David R. Smith
   1916, Chicago: C. W. Phellis
   1920, Chicago: C. C. Barnett — W. F. Hite
   1924, Cleveland: Boyd Jarrell
   1928, Kansas City: S. M. Hoff — Boyd Jarrell
   1932, Chicago: Henry D. Hatfield — M. P. Wiswell
   1936, Cleveland: John H. Meek — Natalie Sutherland Walker
   1940, Philadelphia: Harry Scherr — Ann Scott Wilson
   1944, Chicago: A. S. Adams — Henry D. Hatfield
   1948, Philadelphia: Martin V. Chapman — Henry D. Hatfield — J. Carl Mitchell
   1952, Chicago: Henry D. Hatfield
   1956, San Francisco: Martin V. Chapman — Floyd S. Taylor
   1960, Chicago: Nathan R. Baker — J. Bert Schroeder — Clayton Snyder — Floyd S. Taylor
   1972, Miami Beach: Keith L. Arthur — Priscilla Humphreys — Jack Wendell Lee — Richard E. Tyson — Cecil H. Underwood — Cecilia Underwood
   2004, New York: Dallas Thacker
   2008, St. Paul: Michael Ankrom — Nora Ankrom — Chad Barry — Debbie Cole — Mary Durstein — Caleb Gibson — Ashley Lockwood — Matt McClay — Carol Miller — Kevin Noe — Matthew S. Pinson — David R. Tyson
   2012, Tampa: Conrad G. Lucas II — Carol Miller — Matthew S. Pinson — David R. Tyson
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/WV/CA-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]