The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Wood County
West Virginia

Wood County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Wood County (incomplete!): Walter E. Stout, as of 1917 — L. M. Pickens, as of 1929 — W. H. Ellis, as of 1940 — Anderson C. Herold, as of 1941-42 — Charles E. Arnold, as of 1945 — Thomas N. Ellis, as of 1946 — Rolla A. Johnston, Sr., as of 1949-50 — William L. Jacobs, as of 1954-55 — William B. Richardson, as of 1961 — Frank Gove, Jr., as of 1962-63 — Bevan Wilcox, as of 1969 — Paul Reese, as of 1970 — Steve Haid, as of 1975 — Jack Murray, as of 1983

Republican Party chairs in Wood County (incomplete!): Walter H. Gerwig, as of 1917 — Eugene T. Hague, as of 1940-41 — H. E. Clovis, as of 1942 — Andrew E. Douglass, as of 1945-46 — Donald F. Black, as of 1949-50 — W. M. Parker, as of 1952-54 — John C. Butcher, as of 1961 — Thomas Webster, as of 1962-63 — George Shedan, as of 1969 — Daniel B. Douglas, as of 1973 — E. R. Soja, as of 1983

Wood County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1876, St. Louis: Johnson N. Camden — Jacob B. Jackson
   1888, St. Louis: Johnson N. Camden
   1916, St. Louis: T. E. Graham
   1920, San Francisco: T. E. Graham
   1924, New York: William G. Peterkin
   1928, Houston: Kenner B. Stephenson — Robert Wilson
   1932, Chicago: Anna M. Stephenson — Robert Wilson
   1936, Philadelphia: Arthur H. Reynolds
   1952, Chicago: Dorr C. Casto
   1956, Chicago: George Barnett — H. Paige Bell — William L. Jacobs — Robert P. McDonough
   1960, Los Angeles: William Bruce Hoff — Robert P. McDonough
   1972, Miami Beach: Russell G. Beall
   1976, New York: Harley E. Bailey — Stephen C. Bird — Harold Bock — William P. Bonar — Fred Rader
   1996, Chicago: Keith Burdette
   2004, Boston: Glen Gainer
   2008, Denver: Walt Auvil — Jean Grapes
Republican National Conventions:
   1860, Chicago: S. M. Peterson — William E. Stevenson
   1868, Chicago: Samuel D. Karns
   1880, Chicago: C. H. Shattuck
   1896, St. Louis: Edward McCreary — Albert B. White
   1900, Philadelphia: W. W. Monroe
   1904, Chicago: Gordon B. Gibbens — A. L. Mallory — C. H. Shattuck
   1912, Chicago: Charles A. Swearingen
   1916, Chicago: J. Mentor Caldwell
   1920, Chicago: John Marshall — Herbert B. White
   1924, Cleveland: Albert H. Geilfuss — John Marshall — Albert B. White
   1928, Kansas City: Albert H. Geilfuss — John Marshall — Albert B. White
   1932, Chicago: J. Ruppert Jefferson
   1936, Cleveland: William H. Carter — John Marshall
   1940, Philadelphia: Robert B. McDougle
   1944, Chicago: Harvey Marsh — Robert B. McDougle
   1948, Philadelphia: Harvey Marsh — Robert B. McDougle
   1952, Chicago: H. E. Clovis — Andrew E. Douglass — Robert B. McDougle — Herbert P. McGinnis
   1956, San Francisco: Andrew E. Douglass — Edgar R. Staats
   1960, Chicago: Andrew E. Douglass — Lawrence C. White
   1968, Miami Beach: William P. A. Nicely
   1972, Miami Beach: William P. A. Nicely
   1984, Dallas: J. Frank Deem — Priscilla Haden
   2004, New York: Frank Deem — Fred Gillespie
   2008, St. Paul: Tom Azinger — Lewis Rexroad — Allen S. Ross — Barbara Smith — Gregory Smith — Robert Smith
   2012, Tampa: Barbara N. Fish — Robert B. Fish, Jr. — Gladys Lemley — Lewis Rexroad — Allen S. Ross
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/WV/WO-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]