The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

South Carolina Democratic Party offices

Index of Politicians by Party Office Held

State Party Officers:

South Carolina Delegates to Democratic National Conventions: very incomplete!

South Carolina Democratic Party County Chairs: very incomplete!

Anderson - Chester - Colleton - Edgefield - Fairfield - Florence - Greenville - Horry - Lexington - Newberry - Spartanburg

Democratic state chairs, 1880-2008 (Incomplete!)

John Bratton 1880 John L. M. Irby as of 1890 John Gary Evans 1912-16 Thomas P. Cothran 1920 Edgar A. Brown 1922-26 Wilie Jones as of 1923 Claud N. Sapp 1930-34 Ben T. Leppard as of 1937 Taylor H. Stukes as of 1938-40 Winchester C. Smith as of 1945 Edgar A. Brown 1952-53 L. Marion Gressette 1953-54 Neville Bennett as of 1955 Thomas H. Pope as of 1958 Earle E. Morris, Jr. 1966-68 W. J. Bryan Dorn as of 1980-84 Carol Fowler as of 2008

Democratic state vice-chairs, 1878-2008 (Incomplete!)

John Brown Moore 1878 Wilber Lee Jeffcoat as of 2008

Members of Democratic National Committee, 1876-2008 (Incomplete!)

Thomas Y. Simons as of 1876 J. H. Ryan as of 1880 F. W. Dawson as of 1888 Benjamin R. Tillman 1912-16 John Gary Evans 1918-21 Mrs. H. I. Manning as of 1920 Ibra C. Blackwood 1932 Olin D. Johnston as of 1935-40 Mrs. L. H. Jennings as of 1939 Burnet R. Maybank 1940 Mrs. C. L. Wheeler 1940 Olin D. Johnston as of 1944-48 Anne A. Agnew as of 1948-68 W. J. Bryan Dorn as of 1980-84 Gilda Cobb-Hunter as of 2004-08 Joe A. Erwin as of 2004 Waring Howe as of 2004-08 Carol F. Khare as of 2004 Bernice G. Scott as of 2004 Donald L. Fowler as of 2008 Marva Smalls as of 2008

Democratic state party secretaries, 1937 (Incomplete!)

Lane L. Bonner as of 1937

Members of Democratic State Executive Committee, 1912-34 (Incomplete!)

Allard H. Gasque 1912-20 E. L. Fishburne 1931-34 John D. Long as of 1932-34

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/D/SC.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]