The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

South Carolina Delegation to the
2004 Democratic National Convention

Delegates (may be incomplete!)
Bonnie Blair, Myrtle Beach - Karen Brazzell, Rock Hill - Lumus Byrd, Clinton - Jo Etta Chewning, Florence - Edith Chou, Greenville - James E. Clyburn, Columbia - William Clyburn, Aiken - Gilda Cobb-Hunter, Orangeburg - Beverly Dore, Beaufort - Maxie Duke, Walhalla - Joe A. Erwin, Greenville - Kevin Etheridge, Darlington - Robert Ford, Charleston - Donald L. Fowler, Columbia - Katie Fowler, Columbia - Jerry Govan, Orangeburg - Adlena Graham, Hartsville - Faye Coleman Gray, Columbia - Alphonza Hanna, Ridgeway - Marilyn L. Hemingway, Georgetown - Kathryn E. Hensley, Lexington - Ernest F. Hollings - Waring Howe, Charleston - Lane Hudson, Charleston - Ruby James, Columbia - Richard Johnson, Aiken - Nicholas Kekas, Spartanburg - Carol F. Khare, Columbia - Martha Kollock, Chesterfield - Phil Leventis, Sumter - Deborah Livingston, Columbia - Beverly Marshall, Columbia - Michael McCauley, Mt. Pleasant - Lachlan McIntosh, Summerville - Kevin Mertens, Greenville - John Moylan, Columbia - Joseph Neal, Hopkins - Zoe Sanders Nettles, Columbia - Xanthene Norris, Greenville - Gregory Pauswinski, Tega Cay - Elizabeth Poda, Columbia - Aaron Polkey, Charleston - Lessie Price, Aiken - Goldie Randle, North Augusta - Richard W. Riley, Greenville - Jennifer Rison, North Charleston - Bernice G. Scott, Gadsden - John Scott, Columbia - John M. Spratt, Jr., York - Elizabeth Teel, Greer - David Vandiver, Anderson - Rick Wade, Columbia - Brent A. Weaver, Lexington - Melissa Wideman, Charleston - Louisiana Wright, Aiken

Alternates (may be incomplete!)
Betty L. Fant, Lexington - Charles Hamby, Seneca - Sally P. Howard, Myrtle Beach - Frank McBride, Columbia - Vida Miller, Georgetown - Flaminio Sanchez, Columbia - Thomas A. Santaniello, Spartanburg

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/D/2004/SC.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]