The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

North Carolina Democratic Party offices

Index of Politicians by Party Office Held

State Party Officers:

North Carolina Delegates to Democratic National Conventions: very incomplete!

North Carolina Democratic Party County Chairs: very incomplete!

Anson - Beaufort - Burke - Caswell - Cleveland - Davidson - Edgecombe - Granville - Guilford - Henderson - New Hanover - Stokes

Democratic state chairs, 1896-2008 (Incomplete!)

Clement Manly as of 1896 Thomas D. Warren 1914 John G. Dawson as of 1925 O. M. Mull as of 1931 R. Gregg Cherry as of 1937-39 Emery B. Denny 1940-42 William B. Umstead as of 1945 Capus M. Waynick as of 1948 B. Everett Jordan as of 1949-54 John D. Larkins, Jr. 1954-58 Tim Valentine as of 1966-68 David E. Price as of 1983-84 Jerry Meek as of 2008

Democratic state vice-chairs, 2008 (Incomplete!)

Dannie Montgomery as of 2008

Members of Democratic National Committee, 1876-2008 (Incomplete!)

Matt W. Ransom as of 1876-88 Josephus Daniels 1896-1916 Angus W. McLean 1916-24 Mary O. Graham as of 1920 Cameron Morrison as of 1928 Jonathan Daniels 1930 Beatrice Cobb as of 1939-40 Alonzo D. Folger as of 1939-40 Clyde R. Hoey 1941-44 Joe L. Blythe as of 1947 B. Everett Jordan as of 1954-58 John D. Larkins, Jr. 1958-60 Barbara K. Allen as of 2004 Jeanette Council as of 2004-08 Joycelyn Johnson as of 2004 Jerry Meek as of 2004 Muriel K. Offerman as of 2004-08 David Parker as of 2004-08 Everett Ward as of 2004-08 Joyce Brayboy as of 2008 Susan Burgess as of 2008 Carol W. Peterson as of 2008

Democratic state party secretaries, 1930-54 (Incomplete!)

Wilkins P. Horton as of 1930 Cutlar Moore as of 1934-36 D. L. Ward as of 1937 LeRoy Martin as of 1944-48 John D. Larkins, Jr. 1952-54

Members of Democratic State Central Committee, 1908-33 (Incomplete!)

James A. Bell as of 1908-30 James O. Carr 1908-28 LeRoy Martin as of 1929-33

Members of Democratic State Committee, 1929 (Incomplete!)

Fay Webb Gardner as of 1929

Members of Democratic State Executive Committee, 1888-1954 (Incomplete!)

R. E. Little 1888 Walter Murphy 1898 H. A. Gilliam 1900-12 Hannibal L. Godwin 1904-06 James O. Carr 1908-36 O. Max Gardner 1910-14 Dennis G. Brummitt 1913-24 Sam J. Ervin, Jr. 1930-37 Fay Webb Gardner 1930-32 Cameron S. Weeks 1952-54 Adam J. Whitley, Jr. 1953

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/D/NC.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]