The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Guilford County
North Carolina

Guilford County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Guilford County (incomplete!): Robin Britt, 1979-81

Republican Party chairs in Guilford County (incomplete!): N. D. McNary, as of 1952

Guilford County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: Robert P. Dick
   1876, St. Louis: John N. Staples
   1916, St. Louis: E. D. Broadhurst
   1924, New York: R. B. Terry
   1928, Houston: Mrs. E. D. Broadhurst — M. J. Wrenn
   1932, Chicago: Harriett Elliott — C. L. Shuping
   1940, Chicago: E. D. Broadhurst
   1944, Chicago: Lewis J. Fisher — Earl H. Phillips
   1948, Philadelphia: L. P. McLendon — Earl H. Phillips — Pierce Rucker
   1952, Chicago: Mrs. Harry Caldwell — Frank R. Hutton
   1956, Chicago: Mrs. Hunter Dalton — John Harden — Frank R. Hutton — Amos R. Kearns — Capus M. Waynick — C. C. Wimbish
   1964, Atlantic City: Hargrove Bowles — Joe Bryan — Horace R. Kornegay — L. Richardson Preyer
   1996, Chicago: Margaret Arbuckle — ToNola D. Brown — Jennifer Harris — Dorothy Kendall Kearns — Michele Smith — Tom Terrell
   2004, Boston: Jillian Brevorka — Katie Cashion — Jason E. Coley — Thomas E. Coley — Randall R. Kaplan — Harry McIntyre — Roy Moore, Sr. — Joanne Schlaginhaufer — Bernita Sims
   2008, Denver: Jason E. Coley — Thomas E. Coley — Ossie Edwards — Betsy Fox — Pricey Harrison — Donald Hughes — Randall R. Kaplan — Paul K. Mengert — Ray Riffe — Joanne Schlaginhaufer — Bernita Sims
Republican National Conventions:
   1900, Philadelphia: Spencer B. Adams
   1904, Chicago: Robert D. Douglas
   1908, Chicago: Spencer B. Adams — H. B. Worth
   1912, Chicago: J. A. Hoskins
   1916, Chicago: William P. Bynum
   1928, Kansas City: James S. Duncan
   1932, Chicago: James S. Duncan — W. H. Foster — C. Clifford Frazier — Worth D. Henderson
   1936, Cleveland: Hadley Hayes — O. R. York
   1940, Philadelphia: David M. Blair — Worth D. Henderson — Walter L. York
   1944, Chicago: Worth D. Henderson — Willis Slane
   1948, Philadelphia: Z. Hampton Howerton, Sr. — Walter L. York
   1952, Chicago: G. M. Beck — N. D. McNary
   1956, San Francisco: Ike Lester — Albert E. Reitzel
   1960, Chicago: Robert E. Lowdermilk — Percy H. Sears
   1964, San Francisco: Philip L. Lacy — Charles J. Mitchell — Frances Yow
   1972, Miami Beach: Ruby W. Collins — Buford Kidd — R. Odell Payne
   2004, New York: Linda Shaw — Robert Shaw — Cecelia Taylor
   2008, St. Paul: Lynn Connelly — Louis DeJoy — Joe Hauck — Marshall Hurley — Charles W. Irvin, Jr. — Mary Elizabeth Irvin — Nancy Jones — Nancy Mazza — Augustus G. McDowell — Linda Shaw — Cecelia Taylor — Nancy Wells — Mark Timothy Wheelihan — Jacqueline T. Wieland — Bruce Wiley — Laura I. Wiley — Aldona Wos
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NC/GU-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]