The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

Florida Democratic Party offices

Index of Politicians by Party Office Held

State Party Officers:

Florida Delegates to Democratic National Conventions: very incomplete!

Florida Democratic Party County Chairs: very incomplete!

Monroe - Sarasota

Democratic state chairs, 1876-2008 (Incomplete!)

Samuel Pasco 1876-88 Duncan U. Fletcher 1905-08 Robert E. Davis as of 1925 James B. Stewart as of 1929 H. H. Wells as of 1930-31 James B. Hodges as of 1937 Theodore T. Turnbull as of 1939 T. W. Conley, Jr. as of 1945 Alex D. Littlefield as of 1949 James M. Milligan as of 1955-58 Pat Thomas as of 1966-70 Bob Poe as of 2002 Scott Maddox 2003-05 Karen L. Thurman as of 2008

Democratic state vice-chairs, 2008 (Incomplete!)

Vivian Rafferty Cosgrove 1950 Rudolph Parker as of 2008

Members of Democratic National Committee, 1876-2008 (Incomplete!)

Charles E. Dyke as of 1876 Wilkinson Call 1879-80 Samuel Pasco 1880-90 Jefferson B. Browne 1904-08 John T. G. Crawford as of 1912-29 Lois K. Mayes as of 1920 Lois K. Mayes as of 1929 John S. Taylor as of 1932 H. H. Wells as of 1937-39 Hortense K. Wells as of 1937-39 Paul A. Brown 1940 Enid Broward Hardee 1940 Nell Alford 1944-50 Jeff Frank Adams as of 1947 Richard D. Barker as of 1954 Mary Cox as of 1963 Robert C. H. Johnson as of 1963 Annette Baker as of 1968 Elliott Roosevelt as of 1968 Steven B. Feren 1998-2002 Clarence Anthony as of 2004 Jon Ausman as of 2004-08 Cathy Bartolotti as of 2004 Terrie W. Brady as of 2004-08 Mitchell Ceasar as of 2004-08 Joyce M. Cusack as of 2004-08 Diane Glasser as of 2004-08 Scott Maddox as of 2004 Chuck Mohlke as of 2004-08 Lula Rodriguez as of 2004 Andrew Tobias as of 2004-08 Diana Wasserman-Rubin as of 2004 Allan Katz as of 2008 Raul L. Martinez as of 2008 Janee Murphy as of 2008

Democratic state party secretaries, 1937 (Incomplete!)

T. W. Conley, Jr. as of 1937

Members of Democratic State Committee, 1872-2000 (Incomplete!)

Samuel Pasco 1872-80 Juanita Geathers as of 2000

Members of Democratic State Executive Committee, 1936 (Incomplete!)

Nell Alford as of 1936

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/D/FL.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]