The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

Connecticut Democratic Party offices

Index of Politicians by Party Office Held

State Party Officers:

Connecticut Delegates to Democratic National Conventions: very incomplete!

Democratic state chairs, 1898-2008 (Incomplete!)

Melbert B. Cary as of 1898-1900 Charles F. Thayer as of 1901 David E. FitzGerald as of 1922 Edward M. Yeomans as of 1925 James J. Walsh as of 1929-30 Patrick B. O'Sullivan as of 1930 J. Francis Smith as of 1937-39 John T. McCarthy as of 1940-41 Adrian W. Maher 1944-45 John M. Bailey 1946- John A. McGuire as of 1946 Edward L. Marcus 1990 Nancy DiNardo as of 2008

Democratic state vice-chairs, 1940-2008 (Incomplete!)

Nora M. Harris as of 1940-41 Stephen Fontana as of 2008

Members of Democratic National Committee, 1876-2008 (Incomplete!)

William H. Barnum as of 1876-88 Homer S. Cummings as of 1900-25 Caroline Ruutz-Rees as of 1920 Thomas J. Spellacy 1925-29 Lillian S. Abbott as of 1929 David E. FitzGerald 1937-42 Mary C. Coughlin as of 1939-41 Robert A. Hurley as of 1947 John M. Golden as of 1954-68 Dorothy Satti as of 1954 Ella T. Grasso as of 1956-58 Beatrice Rosenthal as of 1963-68 Anthony V. Avallone as of 2004-08 Bernice Bowman as of 2004 Ellen Camhi as of 2004-08 Martin J. Dunleavy as of 2004-08 George C. Jepsen as of 2004 Mona Mohib as of 2004 Dorothy A. Mrowka as of 2004 Philip A. Wheeler as of 2004 John W. Olsen as of 2008

Democratic state party secretaries, 1901-2008 (Incomplete!)

David T. McNamara as of 1901 Edwin Stark Thomas 1902-12 Alexander S. Lynch as of 1922 William M. Greene as of 1937 J. Walter Darley as of 1940 Jimetta L. Samaha as of 2008

Democratic state party treasurers, 1922-41 (Incomplete!)

Fred P. Holt as of 1922 William J. Farley as of 1940-41

Democratic state party assistant secretaries, 1940-41 (Incomplete!)

Katherine T. Quinn as of 1940-41

Members of Democratic State Central Committee, 1901-77 (Incomplete!)

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/D/CT.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]