The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mason County
West Virginia

Politicians who lived in Mason County

  Mason County (no city given):
  Mason County, year not specified: John W. English — Charles P. T. Moore
  Mason County, 1800-1899: John P. Austin — Andrew R. Barbee — A. Green Beard — Jabez Beard — Lewis Bumgarner — Presley C. Eastham — James M. Hensley — Byrd Hill — Virgil A. Lewis — John M. Phelps — George Poffenbarger — J. S. Spencer — Rankin Wiley, Jr.
  Mason County, 1900-1999: John G. Aten — Eugene R. Ball — R. A. Blessing — T. P. Bumgarner — Jack C. Burdett — O. K. Burdette — Clifford Carter — James M. Casey — G. W. Cossin — James M. Crump — W. D. Cury — C. S. P. Edwards — William M. Hall — O. B. Harper — Byrd Hill — David L. Keefer — Samuel D. Littlepage — P. E. McDermitt — A. A. Parsons — George M. Parsons — S. L. Parsons — Lawrence Plants — George Poffenbarger — William L. Poling — George E. Sayre — W. B. Shiflet — R. R. Smith — J. H. Somerville — Claude E. Swann — C. O. Weissenburger — Pat M. Wilson
  Mason County, Va. (now W.Va.): James Henry Couch
  Apple Grove: Campbell W. Stevens — Paul Ernest Watterson
  Arbuckle: Isabella Chilton Wilson
  Gallipolis Ferry: Jim Butler
  Glenwood: Russell E. Starkey
  Grimms Landing: Gus R. Douglass
  Hartford City: James W. Kelly — A. Keith McClung
  Leon: Gus R. Douglass — George A. Rairden
  Letart: Scott Cadle
  New Haven: Geraldine Dyer Layne — Harry O. Layne — Lester K. Ohlinger
  Point Pleasant:
  Point Pleasant, 1850-1899: James Capehart — William Chambers — William French — Lewis C. George — Baptiste Gilmore — Frank D. Hay — Charles E. Hogg — John Hull — Livia Simpson Poffenbarger — Enos Smith — John P. R. B. Smith — Griffith B. Thomas — Ameson C. Van Gilder — Fulton M. Whaley — Kellian Whaley
  Point Pleasant, 1900-1949: U. G. Arnett — Charles T. Beale — P. T. Burdett — J. Wallace Burdette — O. K. Burdette — Rose Ferguson Burford — William Chambers — Ervin William Dement — William H. H. Gardner — Robert J. Heslop — Charles E. Hogg — Robert L. Hogg — John C. Hutchinson — Howard S. Johnson — E. Bartow Jones — Nedra W. Jones — Ernest E. Kincade — B. W. Krodel — Harry F. Lewis — John F. Lewis — James J. Lovell — Livia Simpson Poffenbarger — R. A. Riggs — Griffith T. Smith — E. J. Somerville — George G. Somerville
  Point Pleasant, 1950-1999: George Albion Biggs — Joe F. Burdett — O. K. Burdette — Robert Butcher — Carroll W. Casto — Charles H. Damron — Lawrence R. Gerlach, Sr. — Troy Huffman — John C. Hutchinson — Jack Johnson — Brereton C. Jones — E. Bartow Jones — Nedra W. Jones — B. W. Krodel — D. B. Morgan — John C. Musgrave — R. F. Musgrave — R. G. Musgrave — David O'Neal — Robert E. Peoples — Elsie S. Rardin — Michael Shaw — Homer Smith — Lionel L. Smith — Orville Sturgeon — Randall A. Taylor — Dick Thomas — Vallie E. Toney — Jimmy Joe Wedge
  Point Pleasant, 2000-2022: George Albion Biggs — Nedra W. Jones — Jimmie Wood, Jr.
  Point Pleasant, Va. (now W.Va.): Baptiste Gilmore — Benjamin F. Jones — William Langtray — Alexander McCulloch — George Newman — John Rouch — Samuel G. Shaw — Joseph Sly — Benjamin Thomas — Kellian Whaley
  Southside: William J. Artrip — Brian Savilla
   See also West Virginia areas not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/WV/MS-lived.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]