The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Pulaski County

Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in Pulaski County

Index to Locations

  • Draper Valley Oglesbies Cemetery
  • Dublin New Dublin Presbyterian Cemetery
  • Fairlawn Sunrise Burial Park
  • Pulaski Oaklawn Cemetery

    Oglesbies Cemetery
    Draper Valley, Pulaski County, Virginia
    Politicians buried here:
      Joseph Draper (1794-1834) — of Virginia. Born in Draper Valley, Pulaski County, Va., December 25, 1794. Served in the U.S. Army during the War of 1812; lawyer; member of Virginia state senate, 1828-30; U.S. Representative from Virginia 22nd District, 1830-31, 1832-33. Died in Wytheville, Wythe County, Va., June 10, 1834 (age 39 years, 167 days). Interment at Oglesbies Cemetery.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page

    New Dublin Presbyterian Cemetery
    Dublin, Pulaski County, Virginia
    Politicians formerly buried here:
      Albert Gallatin Jenkins (1830-1864) — of Virginia. Born in Cabell County, Va. (now W.Va.), November 10, 1830. Democrat. U.S. Representative from Virginia 11th District, 1857-61; Representative from Virginia in the Confederate Congress, 1862; general in the Confederate Army during the Civil War. Slaveowner. Mortally wounded in the Battle of Cloyds Mountain, and died near Dublin, Pulaski County, Va., May 21, 1864 (age 33 years, 193 days). Original interment at New Dublin Presbyterian Cemetery; reinterment at Spring Hill Cemetery, Huntington, W.Va.
      Presumably named for: Albert Gallatin
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page

    Sunrise Burial Park
    Fairlawn, Pulaski County, Virginia
    Politicians buried here:
      John Nichols Dalton (1931-1986) — also known as John N. Dalton — of Radford, Va. Born in Emporia, Va., July 11, 1931. Republican. Lawyer; delegate to Republican National Convention from Virginia, 1960, 1964 (alternate), 1972 (alternate); treasurer of Virginia Republican Party, 1960-61; member of Virginia state house of delegates, 1966-72 (Montgomery County & Radford city 1966-71, Carroll, Floyd, Montgomery & Wythe counties & Radford city 1972); member of Virginia state senate 37th District, 1972-73; Lieutenant Governor of Virginia, 1974-78; Governor of Virginia, 1978-82. Baptist. Member, Rotary; Jaycees; Freemasons; Shriners; American Legion; Moose; Odd Fellows; Farm Bureau; Omicron Delta Kappa. Died in Radford, Va., July 30, 1986 (age 55 years, 19 days). Interment at Sunrise Burial Park.
      See also National Governors Association biography — NNDB dossier — Find-A-Grave memorial
      James Wall Flanagan (1867-1938) — also known as J. W. Flanagan — of Radford, Va. Born in Montgomery County, Va., December 15, 1867. Republican. Farmer; delegate to Republican National Convention from Virginia, 1920; candidate for Virginia state treasurer, 1921; candidate for Presidential Elector for Virginia, 1924. Died in Christiansburg, Montgomery County, Va., December 22, 1938 (age 71 years, 7 days). Interment at Sunrise Burial Park.
      Relatives: Son of Armanda Melvina (Morgan) Flanagan (1829-1905) and Adam Henderson Flanagan (1831-1900); married to Elrica H. Smith (1868-1953).
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial

    Oaklawn Cemetery
    Pulaski, Pulaski County, Virginia
    Politicians buried here:
      Christian Talbot Steger — also known as Christian T. Steger — of Richmond, Va. U.S. Vice Consul in Rome, as of 1921; U.S. Consul in Corinto, 1926-30; Malmo, 1930; Beirut, as of 1932-38; Jerusalem, as of 1943. Interment at Oaklawn Cemetery.

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/VA/PU-buried.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]