The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Virginia: Governors

Governors of Virginia, 1776-2019 (May be incomplete!)
Patrick Henry 1776-79 Thomas Jefferson 1779-81 William Fleming 1781 Thomas Nelson, Jr. 1781 David Jameson 1781 Benjamin Harrison 1781-84 Patrick Henry 1784-86 Edmund Jenings Randolph 1786-88 Beverley Randolph 1788-91 Henry Lee 1791-94 Robert Brooke 1794-96 James Wood 1796-99 James Monroe 1799-1802 John Page 1802-05 William H. Cabell 1805-08 John Tyler 1808-11 James Monroe 1811 George William Smith 1811 Peyton Randolph 1811-12 James Barbour 1812-14 Wilson C. Nicholas 1814-16 James P. Preston 1816-19 Thomas Mann Randolph 1819-22 James Pleasants 1822-25 John Tyler 1825-27 William B. Giles 1827-30 John Floyd 1830-34 Littleton W. Tazewell 1834-36 Wyndham Robertson 1836-37 David Campbell 1837-40 Thomas Walker Gilmer 1840-41 John Mercer Patton 1841 John Rutherford 1841-42 John M. Gregory 1842-43 James McDowell 1843-46 William Smith 1846-49 John B. Floyd 1849-52 Joseph Johnson 1852-55 Henry Alexander Wise 1856-59 John Letcher 1860-63 William Smith 1864-65 Francis Harrison Pierpoint 1865-68 Henry Horatio Wells 1868-69 Gilbert C. Walker 1869-74 James Lawson Kemper 1874-78 Frederick William Mackey Holliday 1878-82 William E. Cameron 1882-86 Fitzhugh Lee 1886-90 Philip W. McKinney 1890-94 Charles T. O'Ferrall 1894-98 J. Hoge Tyler 1898-1902 Andrew J. Montague 1902-06 Claude A. Swanson 1906-10 W. Hodges Mann 1910-14 Henry C. Stuart 1914-18 Westmoreland Davis 1918-22 E. Lee Trinkle 1922-26 Harry F. Byrd 1926-30 John Garland Pollard 1930-34 George C. Peery 1934-38 James H. Price 1938-42 Colgate W. Darden, Jr. 1942-46 William M. Tuck 1946-50 John S. Battle 1950-54 Thomas B. Stanley 1954-58 J. Lindsay Almond, Jr. 1958-62 Albert S. Harrison, Jr. 1962-66 Mills E. Godwin, Jr. 1966-70 Linwood Holton 1970-74 Mills E. Godwin, Jr. 1974-78 John N. Dalton 1978-82 Charles S. Robb 1982-86 Gerald L. Baliles 1986-90 L. Douglas Wilder 1990-94 George F. Allen, Jr. 1994-98 Jim Gilmore 1998-2002 Mark Warner 2002-06 Tim Kaine 2006-10 Bob McDonnell 2010-14 Terry McAuliffe 2014-18 Ralph S. Northam 2018-19

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1811 Dec 26: George William Smith, died in office.
  • 1873: Robert William Hughes (Rep), defeated.
  • 1878: Fayette McMullen, defeated.
  • 1881: John W. Daniel, defeated.
  • 1885: John S. Wise (Rep), defeated.
  • 1901: Claude A. Swanson, defeated for nomination.
  • 1910: William P. Kent (Rep), defeated.
  • 1913 Nov 4: Henry C. Stuart (Dem), elected; C. Campbell (Socialist), defeated; B. D. Downey (Socialist Labor), defeated.
  • 1917 Nov 6: Westmoreland Davis (Dem), elected; Thomas J. Muncy (Rep), defeated; Frank Smith (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1921 Nov 8: E. Lee Trinkle (Dem), elected; Henry W. Anderson (Rep), defeated; John P. Mitchell, Jr., defeated; Mrs. George Curtis, defeated; John P. Goodman, defeated.
  • 1925 Nov 3: Harry F. Byrd (Dem), elected; S. Harris Hoge (Rep), defeated.
  • 1929 Nov 5: John Garland Pollard (Dem), elected; William M. Brown (Rep), defeated; John J. Kafka (Socialist), defeated; W. A. Rowe (Ind), defeated.
  • 1933: Joseph T. Deal (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1933 Nov 7: George C. Peery (Dem), elected; Fred W. McWane (Rep), defeated; Andrew J. Dunning, Jr. (Prohibition), defeated; George C. White (Socialist), defeated; John M. Robinson (Ind), defeated; W. A. Rowe (Ind), defeated.
  • 1937 Nov 2: James H. Price (Dem), elected; J. Powell Royall (Rep), defeated; Donald Burke (Communist), defeated; James A. Edgerton (Prohibition), defeated.
  • 1941 Nov 4: Colgate W. Darden, Jr. (Dem), elected; Benjamin Muse (Rep), defeated; Donald Burke (Communist), defeated; Hilliard Bernstein (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1945 Nov 6: William M. Tuck (Dem), elected; S. Floyd Landreth (Rep), defeated; Howard H. Carville (Ind), defeated.
  • 1949 Nov 8: John S. Battle (Dem), elected; Walter Johnson (Rep), defeated; Clarke T. Robb (Social Democratic), defeated.
  • 1965: Linwood Holton (Rep), defeated; George Lincoln Rockwell (American Nazi), defeated.
  • 1969: Henry Evans Howell, Jr., defeated.
  • 1973: Henry Evans Howell, Jr., defeated.
  • 1977: Henry Evans Howell, Jr., defeated.
  • 1989: L. Douglas Wilder (Dem), elected.
  • 1997: Don Beyer (Dem), defeated.
  • 2005: Tim Kaine (Dem), elected.
  • 2009: Terry McAuliffe (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 2009: R. Creigh Deeds (Dem), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/VA/ofc/gov.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]