The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Fairfax County

Politicians who died in Fairfax County

  Fairfax County (no city given): George Mason, 1792 — William Fitzhugh, 1809 — William W. Boyce, 1890 — Oscar W. Underwood, 1929 — Joseph L. Bristow, 1944 — Robert H. McBride, 1983
  Near Accotink: Moses E. Clapp, 1929
  Annandale: Floyd Fithian, 2003 — Bob Edgar, 2013 — Richard G. Lugar, 2019
  Chantilly: Isaac Ingalls Stevens, 1862 — William S. Mailliard, 1992
  Clifton: Joseph Lewis, Jr., 1834
  Dunn Loring: William McKee Dunn, 1887
  Fairfax Station: Gus Yatron, 2003
  Fort Belvoir: Earl Hebert, 1991 — Shelby Highsmith, 2015
  Howard (now part of Tysons Corner): Charles F. Mercer, 1858 — David Funsten, 1866
  Lewinsville: Charles Cutts, 1846
  Mt. Vernon: George Washington, 1799 — Lewis Burwell Puller, Jr., 1994 — Herbert Eugene Harris II, 2014
  McLean: William N. Doak, 1933 — Walter F. Boyle, 1956 — Walter Flowers, 1984 — Kenneth B. Atkinson, 1991 — George W. Anderson, Jr., 1992 — William D. Hathaway, 2013 — Louis Falk Oberdorfer, 2013 — Bill Frenzel, 2014
  Reston: Walter H. Capps, 1997
  Springfield: Thomas P. Shoesmith, 2007
  Vienna: Harvey Samuel Irwin, 1916 — R. Baldwin Myers, 1962 — Reva Beck Bosone, 1983 — Howard Phillips, 2013
  Near Vienna: Frederick Van Nuys, 1944
   See also Virginia deathplaces not assigned to counties.

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/VA/FX-died.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]