The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Waller County

Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in Waller County

Index to Locations

  • Hempstead City Cemetery
  • Hempstead Hempstead Cemetery

    City Cemetery
    Hempstead, Waller County, Texas
    Politicians buried here:
      John McPherson Pinckney (1845-1905) — also known as John M. Pinckney — of Hempstead, Waller County, Tex. Born near Hempstead, Grimes County, Tex., May 4, 1845. Democrat. Served in the Confederate Army during the Civil War; state court judge in Texas, 1900-03; U.S. Representative from Texas 8th District, 1903-05; died in office 1905. Assaulted and killed at a meeting of the Waller County Prohibition League, Hempstead, Waller County, Tex., April 24, 1905 (age 59 years, 355 days). Interment at City Cemetery.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page

    Hempstead Cemetery
    Hempstead, Waller County, Texas
    Politicians buried here:
      Richardson A. Scurry (1811-1862) — of Texas. Born in Gallatin, Sumner County, Tenn., November 11, 1811. Democrat. Served in the Texas Army during the Texas War of Independence; judge of Texas Republic, 1840-41; member of Texas Republic House of Representatives, 1842-44; U.S. Representative from Texas 1st District, 1851-53; general in the Confederate Army during the Civil War. Accidentally shot himself in the foot while hunting, in August 1854; the wound never healed and became infected; though his leg was later amputated, he died as a result in Hempstead, Waller County, Tex., April 9, 1862 (age 50 years, 149 days). Interment at Hempstead Cemetery.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/TX/WL-buried.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]