The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
San Jacinto County

Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in San Jacinto County

Index to Locations

  • Coldspring Laurel Hill Cemetery (White)
  • Near Point Blank Robinson Graveyard

    Laurel Hill Cemetery (White)
    Coldspring, San Jacinto County, Texas
    Politicians buried here:
      James Keenan Davis (1790-1859) — of Alabama; Texas. Born in Richmond, Va., July 17, 1790. Democrat. Served in the U.S. Army during the War of 1812; county judge in Alabama, 1823; general in the Texas Army during the Texas War of Independence; member of Texas Republic House of Representatives, 1843-44; delegate to Texas state constitutional convention, 1845; delegate to Democratic National Convention from Texas, 1848; member of Texas state senate, 1851-53. Baptist. Member, Freemasons. Slaveowner. Died February 10, 1859 (age 68 years, 208 days). Interment at Laurel Hill Cemetery (White).

    Robinson Graveyard
    Near Point Blank, San Jacinto County, Texas
    Politicians buried here:
      George Tyler Wood (1795-1858) — Born in Cuthbert, Randolph County, Ga., March 12, 1795. Member of Georgia state legislature, 1837-38; member of Texas Republic House of Representatives, 1841-42; delegate to Texas state constitutional convention, 1845; member of Texas state senate, 1846; served in the U.S. Army during the Mexican War; Governor of Texas, 1847-49; defeated, 1849, 1853. Slaveowner. Died in San Jacinto County, Tex., September 3, 1858 (age 63 years, 175 days). Interment at Robinson Graveyard.
      Wood County, Tex. is named for him.
      The town of Woodville, Texas, is named for him.
      See also National Governors Association biography

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/TX/SJ-buried.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]