The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Washington County
Rhode Island

Washington County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Washington County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Washington County: [none currently in database]

Washington County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1864, Chicago: William H. Allen
   1876, St. Louis: John B. Pierce
   1912, Baltimore: William R. Congdon
   1916, St. Louis: Walter Hayward
   1924, New York: Susan Sharp Adams — Charles A. White
   1928, Houston: Susan Sharp Adams — Sumner Mowry
   1936, Philadelphia: Margaret W. Perry
   1940, Chicago: Elisha R. Bitgood — Margaret W. Perry
   1944, Chicago: Joseph Bristow — James L. Forbes
   1948, Philadelphia: John Gentile — Margaret M. Hazard
   1952, Chicago: Margaret M. Hazard
   1960, Los Angeles: Louis B. Capuccio — Margaret M. Hazard — John J. F. McGauran — J. Howard McGrath
   1964, Atlantic City: Louis B. Capuccio — Margaret M. Hazard — J. Howard McGrath
   1988, Atlanta: Frank T. Caprio — Eleanor F. Slater
   1996, Chicago: Suzanne M. Henseler — Edna O'Neill Mattson — Heidi C. Sahagian — Eleanor F. Slater
   2000, Los Angeles: Edna O'Neill Mattson
   2004, Boston: David A. Caprio — Tracey Cugno — Jeanne Harrington — Edna O'Neill Mattson — Robert A. Weygand
   2008, Denver: David A. Caprio — Maureen Martin — Edna O'Neill Mattson — James O'Neil
   2012, Charlotte: Edna O'Neill Mattson — A. Ralph Mollis — Teresa Tanzi
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: Jacob D. Babcock — Rowland G. Hazard
   1860, Chicago: Rowland G. Hazard
   1864, Baltimore: G. D. Cross — John J. Reynolds
   1868, Chicago: James M. Pendleton
   1876, Cincinnati: James M. Pendleton
   1896, St. Louis: Albert L. Chester
   1900, Philadelphia: Frank Robinson, Jr.
   1908, Chicago: Alexander G. Crumb — Henry B. Kane
   1912, Chicago: Rowland G. Hazard — Henry B. Kane
   1916, Chicago: Albert H. Langworthy
   1920, Chicago: Harry R. Milner
   1924, Cleveland: Martha A. Gardner — Walter A. Nye — Lulu M. Schlesinger
   1928, Kansas City: Samuel H. Davis — Frederick R. Hazard
   1932, Chicago: Mrs. T. P. Hazard — Thomas P. Hazard — Roy Rawlings
   1940, Philadelphia: Percy Hathaway — G. Benjamin Utter
   1944, Chicago: Mrs. Richard H. Murray
   1948, Philadelphia: Howard E. Thorp
   1952, Chicago: Carole G. Wheeler
   1956, San Francisco: Arthur M. Cottrell, Jr. — Henry M. Gallagher — Carole G. Wheeler
   1960, Chicago: Sarah J. Browning
   1972, Miami Beach: Sarah J. Browning — James J. Longolucco
   1992, Houston: David A. Gingerella — Curtis V. Givan — Scott Bill Hirst — Leona A. Kelley — Patricia A. Post — Thomas R. Post, Jr. — Nancy Richmond
   1996, San Diego: Scott Bill Hirst
   2004, New York: Dennis Algiere — David A. Gingerella — Robert Manning — Martha Stamp
   2008, St. Paul: Caswell Cooke, Jr. — David Hathaway, Sr. — Matthew L. Hopkins — Henry Kamradt — Sandra Knowles — Robert Manning
   2012, Tampa: Donald L. Carcieri — Suzanne O. Carcieri — Clifford M. Carlson — Doreen Marie Costa — Scott Bill Hirst — Rachael McIntosh — Andrew McNulty — William K. White — Mark Zaccaria — Ruth Ann Zaccaria
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/RI/WA-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]