The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Washington County
Rhode Island

Politicians who lived in Washington County

  Washington County (no city given): Kenneth Carter — Amanda A. Doescher — Brian P. Kennedy — Donald J. Lally, Jr. — Harriet E. Powell — Joseph H. Scott
  Allenton, North Kingstown: William H. Allen — Margaret M. Hazard
  Ashaway, Hopkinton: Jacob D. Babcock — Scott Bill Hirst — Lloyd B. Langworthy
  Bradford, Westerly: Sarah J. Browning
  Carolina, Charlestown: Milton Duckworth
  Charlestown: Sarah J. Browning — George Carmichael, Jr. — Robert Manning — Lulu M. Schlesinger — Joseph Stanton, Jr. — Edward Wilcox
  Exeter: David Hathaway, Sr. — Jeffrey Hazard — Rachael McIntosh — Eben Slocum
  Hope Valley, Hopkinton: Elisha R. Bitgood — Edwin J. Knerr — John O. Matson
  Hopkinton: Edwin R. Allen — Arthur M. Cottrell, Jr. — Lester Crandall — Oliver Davis — Milton N. Gilman — Robert Scott Hirst — Henry Kamradt — Kenneth W. Mott — Joseph Popiolek — Donald Tetlow — Benjamin B. Thurston — Jeremiah Thurston
  Kenyon, Charlestown: Susan Sharp Adams
  Kings Town (part now in South Kingstown): Edward Greenman
  Kingston, South Kingstown: Frank Robinson, Jr.
  Narragansett: Joseph Bristow — David A. Caprio — Frank T. Caprio — Norman S. Case — Tracey Cugno — Henry B. Kane — J. Howard McGrath — James O'Neil — Heidi C. Sahagian — Claudine Schneider — William Sprague — Carole G. Wheeler
  Narragansett Pier, Narragansett: Joseph I. Denico — Walter A. Nye — Charles A. White
  New Shoreham, Newport County (now Washington County): Christopher E. Champlin — Anderson C. Rose
  North Kingstown: Christopher Allen — Melvoid J. Benson — Clifford M. Carlson — Martha Holt Castle — Doreen Marie Costa — Laurence W. Ehrhardt — Curtis V. Givan — Jeremiah Gould — William Gregory — Margaret M. Hazard — Suzanne M. Henseler — Edna O'Neill Mattson — A. Ralph Mollis — Patricia A. Post — Thomas R. Post, Jr. — Allen Reynolds — John J. Reynolds — Sylvester G. Shearman — Joseph Spink — Francis Willett
  Peace Dale, South Kingstown: Percy Hathaway — Rowland G. Hazard — Thomas P. Hazard — Leona A. Kelley — Sumner Mowry
  Potter Hill, Hopkinton: Howard E. Thorp
  Quonochontaug, Charlestown: Herman E. Learned
  Richmond: Richard Bailey — John W. Collins — Alfred Whitman Kenyon — Roy Rawlings — Frank J. Sibley
  Rockville, Hopkinton: Albert S. Babcock
  Saunderstown, Narragansett: Donald L. Carcieri — Suzanne O. Carcieri — Stephen A. Fanning — Henry M. Gallagher — Frederick R. Hazard — Ira Lloyd Letts — Robert A. Weygand — Mark Zaccaria — Ruth Ann Zaccaria
  Slocum, North Kingstown: Martha A. Gardner
  South Kingstown:
  South Kingstown, 1700-1799: George Brown — George Hazard — Jeremiah Niles — Elisha R. Potter — Samuel J. Potter — William Robinson
  South Kingstown, 1800-1899: Rowland G. Hazard — James Helme — Robert F. Noyes — William Peckham — Asa Potter — Elisha Watson — Wager Weeden
  South Kingstown, 1900-1999: James L. Forbes — Rowland G. Hazard — Mrs. T. P. Hazard — William H. Leslie — J. Howard McGrath — Nathaniel W. Smith
  South Kingstown, 2000-2023: M. J. MacKenzie — Maureen Martin — Andrew McNulty — John P. Shanley, Jr. — Martha Stamp — Robert B. Votava — William K. White
  Wakefield, South Kingstown: Jeanne Harrington — Mrs. Richard H. Murray — Teresa Tanzi
  Westerly, year not specified: Antonio Charles Trovato
  Westerly, 1700-1799: Joshua Babcock — Nathan Pendleton — Samuel Ward
  Westerly, 1800-1899: Rowse Babcock — Albert L. Chester — Ira B. Crandall — G. D. Cross — Samuel H. Cross — Nathan F. Dixon — Nathan Fellows Dixon II — Thomas Noyes — Francis S. Peabody — James M. Pendleton — William Rhodes — Frank E. Rich — George D. Utter — George H. Utter
  Westerly, 1900-1999: Louis W. Arnold — Samuel J. Azzinaro — Louis B. Capuccio — Alexander G. Crumb — Samuel H. Davis — John Gentile — David A. Gingerella — Albert H. Langworthy — Herman E. Learned — James J. Longolucco — John J. F. McGauran — Harry R. Milner — John M. O'Connell — Margaret W. Perry — W. Price — Nancy Richmond — Thomas D. Santoro — G. Benjamin Utter — George H. Utter
  Westerly, 2000-2023: Dennis Algiere — Caswell Cooke, Jr. — David A. Gingerella — Matthew L. Hopkins — Peter L. Lewiss — Mary Lou Walter
  Wickford, North Kingstown: William R. Congdon — Walter Hayward — Sandra Knowles — John B. Pierce — Eleanor F. Slater — Joseph E. Smith
   See also Rhode Island areas not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/RI/WA-lived.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]