The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Washington County
Rhode Island

Politicians who were born in Washington County

  Ashaway, Hopkinton: Alexander B. Briggs, 1850 — Albert S. Babcock, 1851
  Centerville, Hopkinton: Jabez C. Knight, 1815
  Charlestown: George Champlin, 1738 — Joseph Stanton, Jr., 1739
  Exeter: Samuel W. Hopkins, 1845 — John Nelson Lewis, 1847
  Hope Valley, Hopkinton: C. C. Costello, c.1884
  Hopkinton: Josiah Peckham Palmer, 1828 — Alva Crandall, 1835 — Robert Scott Hirst, 1922
  Little Rest (now part of Kingston): Elisha R. Potter, 1764 — Elisha Reynolds Potter, 1811
  Narragansett Pier, Narragansett: Lincoln MacVeagh, 1890
  New Shoreham, Newport County (now Washington County): William G. Angel, 1790 — Christopher E. Champlin, 1860
  North Kingstown: John Whitman, 1780 — James Davis, c.1783 — Sylvester G. Shearman, 1802 — William H. Allen, 1811 — Samuel W. K. Allen, 1842
  Peace Dale, South Kingstown: Frederick R. Hazard, 1858
  Potter Hill, Hopkinton: Jacob D. Babcock, 1789
  Richmond: Alfred Whitman Kenyon, 1836
  South Kingstown: Sylvester Gardner, c.1730 — Nathaniel Niles, 1741 — John Gardner, 1747 — Rowland G. Hazard, 1801 — Augustus G. Hazard, 1802 — David S. Baker, c.1845 — Abial T. Browning, 1865
  Westerly: Nathan Pendleton, 1754 — Nathan Pendleton, 1779 — Nathan Fellows Dixon II, 1812 — Nathan F. Dixon, 1847 — Charles P. Bennett, 1861 — John M. O'Connell, 1872 — G. Benjamin Utter, 1881 — Thomas D. Santoro, 1922 — Paul F. Palumbo, Jr., 1926 — John O. Matson, 1946 — Scott Bill Hirst, 1953
   See also Rhode Island birthplaces not assigned to counties.

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/RI/WA-born.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]