The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Washington County

Politicians who were born in Washington County

  Washington County (no city given): James Brownlee, 1780 — William Kinney, 1781 — George F. Shannon, c.1785 — Thomas Shannon, 1786 — Isaac Leffler, 1788 — Abraham Van Vorhes, 1793 — Samuel Bell, 1798 — James S. Scott, 1800 — Shepherd Leffler, 1811 — Patrick H. McCullough, 1816 — James Craig, 1818 — George V. Lawrence, 1818 — Alexander Clark, 1826 — Thomas G. Vennum, 1833 — John H. Mitchell, 1835 — Reuben H. Sayre, 1837 — James W. Ballantine, 1840 — James W. Conger, 1845 — Hudson J. Winnett, 1846 — A. V. Penn, 1851
  Amwell Township: John C. Bane, 1861
  Bentleyville: Harry B. Richardson, 1885
  Buffalo Township: Alexander K. Craig, 1828
  Burgettstown: John D. Fredericks, 1869
  California: Fred C. Gilchrist, 1868 — Archibald W. Powell, 1871
  Canonsburg: William W. Wick, 1796 — David Ritchie, 1812 — Andrew Wylie, 1814 — Frank H. Kennedy, c.1839 — James Irvine Dungan, 1844 — John J. Haluska, 1902
  Near Centerville: William Baker, 1831
  Charleroi: Carl B. Galbraith, 1903 — Robert N. Grant, 1952
  Chartiers Township: Erwin Cummins, 1880
  Claysville: James Shannon, c.1791
  Ellsworth: Thomas E. Morgan, 1906
  Florence: Jacob Pitzer Cowan, 1823
  Lawrence: D. Glenn Moore, 1873
  Millsboro: Andrew Jackson Greenfield, 1835
  Monongahela: William Tompos, 1914 — Paul A. Simmons, 1921 — Mitch Daniels, 1949 — Jim Renacci, 1958
  North Charleroi: Austin J. Murphy, 1927 — Reggie B. Walton, 1949
  Near Pigeon Creek: John A. Anderson, 1834
  Roscoe: Grant Furlong, 1886
  Washington: David H. Colerick, 1805 — Robert R. Reed, 1807 — Joseph Albert Wright, 1810 — William McKennan, 1816 — George W. Morgan, 1820 — David Reed, 1821 — Noah C. McFarland, 1822 — John Valcoulon LeMoyne, 1828 — Marcus W. Acheson, 1828 — James Herron Hopkins, 1832 — Alexander W. Acheson, 1842 — David T. Watson, 1844 — Ernest F. Acheson, 1855 — James I. Brownson, 1856 — James M. Clark, 1863 — Ulysses Grant-Smith, 1870 — Charles L. V. Acheson, 1873 — John W. McIlvaine, 1907
  Near Washington: Robert Moore, 1778 — Isaac Leet, 1801 — S. Addison Oliver, 1833
  West Bethlehem: Morgan R. Wise, 1825
  West Brownsville: James G. Blaine, 1830
  West Middletown: Obadiah B. McFadden, 1815
  Zollarsville: S. C. Stahlman, 1898
   See also Pennsylvania birthplaces not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/WA-born.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]