The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Philadelphia County

Honorary foreign consuls in Philadelphia

   Argentina: Edward Shippen (Consul 1872-88) Edward Shippen (Consul 1892-95) William P. Wilson (Consul 1896-1902) William P. Wilson (Honorary Vice Consul 1906-25)
   Austria-Hungary: Lars Westergaard (Consul 1872-93) Arnold Katz (Honorary Vice Consul 1891-99) Alfred J. Ostheimer (Consul 1894-1901)
   Belgium: Jules Leroux (Honorary Consul as of 1935-44) Jacques Leroux (Honorary Consul 1953-59)
   Bolivia: Wilfred H. Schoff (Honorary Consul 1898-1929)
   Brazil: John Mason, Jr. (Vice Consul 1877-99) Napoleon Bonaparte Kelly (Vice Consul 1901-07) Henry C. Sheppard (Commercial Agent 1906-07) Henry C. Sheppard (Vice Consul as of 1929)
   Central America: Robert J. Winsmore (Consul General 1898)
   Chile: Edward Shippen (Consul 1872-98) William P. Wilson (Consul 1899-1901) Dudley Bartlett (Consul 1904-14) Manuel Moreno Lajaña (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   China: Thomas W. Barlow (Honorary Consul 1905-07)
   Colombia: Leon de la Cova (Vice Consul 1867-77) William Harper (Consul 1900-07) Octavio Diaz Valenzuela (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   Costa Rica: Gustav Niederlein (Consul 1896-1907) Henry Cardwell Potter (Vice Consul 1899-1901) Carlos G. Perez (Honorary Consul as of 1935) Eduardo Azuola Aubert (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935)
   Czechoslovakia: Charles Robinson Toothaker (Honorary Consul as of 1935-50)
   Denmark: J. N. Wallem (Vice Consul 1895-1907) Ludvig Theodor Brehm (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935)
   Dominican Republic: Thomas B. Wanamaker (Consul 1895-1901) Rodman Wanamaker (Consul as of 1921) Roberto D. Abrahams (Honorary Consul as of 1935-50) John W. Hartzell (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935)
   Ecuador: Edward Shippen (Consul 1873-97) Cassius A. Green (Consul 1899-1907)
   El Salvador: Nicholas Pedroso (Honorary Consul as of 1935) Jorge Hipsley (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935)
   Finland: Norbert A. Considine (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935)
   Germany: Charles H. Meyer (Consul 1872-98) Charles H. Meyer (Consul 1898-UZ ) Arno Paul Mowitz (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   Greece: Albert H. Lennox (Consul 1881-91) S. Edwin Megargee (Consul 1900-01)
   Guatemala: Gustav Niederlein (Honorary Consul 1902-08) Dudley Bartlett (Honorary Consul 1910-15) J. W. Purner (Honorary Consul as of 1931) Reginald F. Chutter (Honorary Consul as of 1944)
   Haiti: Albert H. Lennox (Vice Consul 1877-83) Albert H. Lennox (Consul 1883-91) Louis Elson (Honorary Consul 1931-47) Raymond Pace Alexander (Honorary Consul 1947)
   Honduras: Robert J. Winsmore (Consul General 1898-1907) Joaquin Alvarado, Jr. (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   Iceland: J. Harry La Brum (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1950)
   Italy: Chevalier Armando Salati (Honorary Vice Consul 1923-35)
   Japan: Alfred J. Ostheimer (Honorary Consul 1897-1901) J. Franklin McFadden (Honorary Consul 1904-35)
   Latvia: John Hemphill (Honorary Consul as of 1935-50)
   Mexico: Caspar Wistar Haines (Vice Consul 1901)
   Netherlands: Lars Westergaard (Consul 1866-93) Arnold Katz (Vice Consul 1894-1917) P. J. Groenendaal (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   Nicaragua: Henry Cardwell Potter (Consul 1875-96) Cassius A. Green (Consul 1899-1901) Rafael Deshon (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   Norway: Mathias Moe (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935) Mathias Moe (Honorary Consul as of 1950)
   Panama: Wilfred H. Schoff (Vice Consul 1904-22) Carlos Berguido, Jr. (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   Paraguay: Rodman Wanamaker (Consul General as of 1921) Henry P. Pilgert (Honorary Consul as of 1940)
   Peru: Wilfred H. Schoff (Honorary Consul 1898-1921)
   Portugal: John Mason, Jr. (Vice Consul 1877-1906) Camilo Camara (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   Romania: Mihail Marian (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   Russia: Henry Préaut (Vice Consul as of 1868) H. Frank Robinson (Vice Consul 1892-94) H. Frank Robinson (Vice Consul 1894-UZ )
   Santo Domingo: Thomas B. Wanamaker (Consul 1885-94)
   Siam: William E. Goodman (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   Spain: Horace Chester Newcomb (Honorary Vice Consul 1901-14)
   Sweden: Maurice Hogeland (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935)
   Sweden & Norway: Lars Westergaard (Vice Consul 1874-93) J. N. Wallem (Vice Consul 1895-1900)
   Switzerland: Rudolph Koradi (Consul 1864-1907)
   Thailand: William E. Goodman (Honorary Consul as of 1940)
   Uruguay: Rodman Wanamaker (Consul as of 1914-26) Alberto Secco Ellauri (Honorary Consul as of 1934-40)
   Venezuela: Leon de la Cova (Consul 1869-77) Winfield S. Bird (Vice Consul 1897-1904) Carlos César Colmenares (Honorary Consul as of 1926) Lorenzo Mendoza Fleury (Honorary Consul 1943-44) Luis A. Lopez Mendez (Honorary Consul 1945)

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/PH-consuls.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]