The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Lancaster County

Politicians who were born in Lancaster County

  Lancaster County (no city given): Nathaniel Ramsey, 1741 — David Ramsay, 1749 — Samuel Sterett, 1758 — Charles McClung, 1761 — John McNairy, 1762 — Robert Jenkins, 1769 — William Addams, 1777 — William Crawford Linton, 1795 — John Stockton, 1798 — Edward Shippen, 1823 — James P. Kennedy, 1826 — Ellis T. Pierce, 1846 — Horace L. Haldeman, 1847
  Bainbridge: Bernard J. Myers, 1880
  Bartville: Milton C. Heidelbaugh, 1843
  Near Blue Ball: John Wilkes Kittera, 1752
  Bowmansville: William A. Schnader, 1886
  Christiana: William W. Griest, 1858
  Churchtown: Edward Davies, 1779
  Colerain Township: Marriott Brosius, 1843
  Columbia: Arthur D. Markley, 1832 — Cleon N. Berntheizel, 1874
  Conoy Township: Michael R. Hoffman, 1857
  Derry: Archibald Roane, c.1755
  Donegal Township: William Smith, 1728
  East Donegal Township: John A. Hiestand, 1824
  East Earl Township: J. Roland Kinzer, 1874
  East Lampeter Township: John G. Homsher, 1859
  Ephrata: William B. Linn, 1871 — Murray Merle Schwartz, 1931
  Ephrata Township: George Hibshman, 1852
  Near Ephrata: Jacob Hibshman, 1772
  Fulton Township: Jeremiah Brown, 1785 — John Strohm, 1793
  Lancaster, year not specified: Richard M. Scott
  Lancaster, 1700-1799: John Gibson, 1740 — Thomas Boude, 1752 — Robert Smith, 1757 — Simon Snyder, 1759 — Jenkin Whiteside, 1772 — William McFarland, 1774 — Henry A. Muhlenberg, 1782 — John Mathiot, 1784 — Thomas Kittera, 1789 — George Getz, 1789
  Lancaster, 1800-1899: Cyrus Y. Jacobs, 1831 — John C. Jacobs, 1839 — Henry E. Muhlenberg, 1850 — Solomon Porter Hood, 1853 — Frank B. McClain, 1864 — J. Mahlon Barnes, 1866 — Frances B. Atlee, 1878 — Rodney Gilbert, 1889
  Lancaster, 1900-1999: Herman T. Schneebeli, 1907 — Gordon C. Preble, 1909 — June N. Honaman, 1920 — Richard M. Scott — Ronald Lawrence Buckwalter, 1936 — Lawrence F. Stengel, 1952 — Lloyd K. Smucker, 1964 — Todd C. Young, 1972
  Leacock Township: Amos Ellmaker, 1787
  Lebanon Township: John Gloninger, 1758
  Lincoln: Guy K. Bard, 1895
  Lititz: Sydenham E. Ancona, 1824 — Hiram Keller, 1832 — Richard A. Snyder, 1910
  Little Britain Township: Thomas Patterson, 1764 — John Patterson, 1771
  Mt. Joy: Clarence Charles Newcomer, 1923
  Manheim: Andrew H. Harnly, 1864
  Manor Township: A. Herr Smith, 1815
  Marietta: Henry Burd Cassel, 1855
  Maytown: William Cameron, 1795 — Simon Cameron, 1799 — Penrose Hills Albright, 1852
  New Danville: Eli Heiny, 1822
  New Holland: John W. Davis, 1799 — Isaac E. Hiester, 1824
  Nickel Mines: William W. Heidelbaugh, 1881
  Octoraro: William C. Sproul, 1870
  Paradise Township: Milton Eby, 1850
  Pequea: Robert Whitehill, 1738
  Quarryville: Edwin D. Eshleman, 1920
  Salisbury Township: John Whitehill, 1729
  Strasburg: James Whitehill, 1762 — Frederick L. Homsher, 1885
  Strasburg Township: Joseph Lefever, 1760
  West Earl Township: E. Paul Burkholder, 1898
   See also Pennsylvania birthplaces not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/LA-born.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]