The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Fayette County

Politicians who were born in Fayette County

  Fayette County (no city given): Mordecai Bartley, 1783 — John Smith Simonson, 1796 — Thomas Smith, 1799 — Joshua G. Newbold, 1830 — Lot Thomas, 1843 — Abraham L. Keister, 1852 — John R. King, 1866 — Omer N. Custer, 1873
  Belle Vernon: W. A. Coughanour, 1851 — Frank R. Mascara, 1930
  Brownsville: Benjamin W. Arnett, 1838 — John A. Martin, 1839 — Philander C. Knox, 1853 — Gary L. Lancaster, 1949 — Peter J. Daley II, 1950
  Near Brownsville: William Carr Lane, 1789 — John H. Ewing, 1796 — Walter Reeves, 1848
  Connellsville: Adam W. Snyder, 1799 — Joshua Mathiot, 1800 — Joseph S. Smith, 1824 — John Frank Boyd, 1853
  Near Connellsville: William A. Clark, 1839
  Dunbar Township: James Clark Work, 1859
  Fairchance: Norman Park Ramsey, 1922
  Fayette City: Robert S. Frazer, c.1850 — Mary Jane Galbraith, 1908
  Franklin Township: Albert Gaddis, 1849 — Allen F. Cooper, 1862
  German Township: Andrew Stewart, 1791 — William E. Crow, 1870
  Jefferson Township: Edward C. Higbee, 1869 — Guy W. Brown, 1884
  Layton: Lewis C. Mellinger, 1888
  Masontown: Bruce F. Sterling, 1870 — Frank L. Bowman, 1879
  Near Masontown: Ira L. Smith, 1870
  New Salem: John E. Crynock, 1917
  North Union Township: Eustace H. Bane, 1904
  Perryopolis: Thomas J. Kalman, 1917
  Point Marion: Theodore M. Bowers, 1907
  Red Stone Fort (now Brownsville): Samuel Van Dyke Stout, 1786
  Redstone Township: U. Frank Higinbotham, 1858
  Salt Lick Township: Horatio S. Dumbauld, 1869
  South Union Township: Walter Russell Carr, 1885
  Uniontown: Henry White Beeson, 1791 — William Kennon, Sr., 1793 — Thomas Ford, 1800 — Harman A. Stidger, 1800 — John L. Dawson, 1813 — Charles E. Boyle, 1836 — Andrew Stewart, 1836 — Nathaniel Ewing, 1848 — Robert F. Hopwood, 1856 — George C. Marshall, 1880 — Harold G. Sturgis, 1887 — William J. Crow, 1902 — Edward Dumbauld, 1905 — Herbert S. MacDonald, 1907 — David M. Bane, 1915 — John K. Tabor, 1921 — William G. Sesler, 1928 — Ronald D. Palmer, 1932 — Robert W. Dinsmore, 1940
  Vanderbilt: Anthony Cavalcante, 1897
  Wharton Township: David D. Johnson, 1844
  Whitsett: Lucien E. Blackwell, 1931
   See also Pennsylvania birthplaces not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/FA-born.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]