The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Berks County

Politicians who were born in Berks County

  Berks County (no city given): Daniel Boone, 1734 — Joseph Ritner, 1780 — Augustus G. Seyfert, 1852 — John W. Holtzman, 1858
  Amity Township: David B. Brunner, 1835 — Guy L. Moser, 1886
  Amityville: Calvin B. Rhoads, 1836 — Lawrence C. Phipps, 1862
  Barto: Monroe H. Kulp, 1858
  Berne Township: Joseph Hiester, 1752 — William Hiester, 1790
  Bernville: John J. Harpel, 1894
  Caernarvon Township: J. Glancy Jones, 1811 — Hiester Clymer, 1827
  Colebrookdale Township: David H. G. Kuser, 1857
  Douglassville: Jacob Kerlin McKenty, 1827
  Exeter Township: William E. Richardson, 1886
  Fleetwood: George S. Messersmith, 1883 — Clyde R. Dengler, 1899
  Greenwich Township: Oscar L. Lenhart, 1878
  Grimville: William C. Troxell, 1884
  Hamburg: Daniel Wolff, 1801 — Charles Benseman, 1824 — Elias Shomo, 1827
  Joanna: Edward S. Haws, 1873
  Joanna Heights: James S. Evans, 1873
  Kutztown: Allan K. Grim, 1904
  Lenhardtsville: Wilson G. Sarig, 1874
  Lyons: Claude T. Reno, 1882
  Maxatawny: Ulysses S. G. Bieber, 1865
  Meckville: Guy J. Swope, 1892
  Oley Township: Daniel K. Hoch, 1866
  Reading, year not specified: James E. Norton — Katherine H. Keiser
  Reading, 1700-1799: Thomas Hartley, 1748 — John Scull, 1765 — John M. Hyneman, 1771 — Henry Fister, 1772 — George de Benneville Keim, 1778 — Peter Nagle, Jr., 1782 — Benneville Keim, 1790 — Edward Burd Hubley, 1792
  Reading, 1800-1899: George M. Keim, 1805 — Nathan M. Eisenhower, 1811 — Robert C. Kendall, 1819 — James Lawrence Getz, 1821 — Henry A. Muhlenberg, 1823 — Frederick K. Bechtel, c.1823 — George de Benneville Keim, 1831 — Daniel Ermentrout, 1837 — Bankson T. Morgan, 1841 — Henry C. Rankin, 1843 — Henry D. Green, 1857 — James H. Maurer, 1864 — George W. Christoph, c.1864 — Charles W. Kutz, 1870 — Charles Y. Thompson, 1875 — Ira D. McCord, 1875 — Heber Ermentrout, 1875 — Stella Z. Livingood, 1876 — James Berg, c.1876 — James E. Norton — Robert G. Bushong, 1883 — J. Fred Bohler, 1885 — Frederick A. Muhlenberg, 1887 — Charles J. Esterly, 1888 — Gertrude Detweiler, 1895 — George M. Rhodes, 1898
  Reading, 1900-1999: Hiester H. Muhlenberg, 1900 — Florence P. Dwyer, 1902 — Katherine H. Keiser — Gus Yatron, 1927 — John A. Barrasso, 1952 — Jeffrey L. Schmehl, 1955 — Mark Allen Barnett, 1963
  Near Reading: William H. Keim, 1813
  Richmond Township: John H. Rothermel, 1856 — Jacob A. Lesher, 1861
  Robesonia: Robert R. Gerhart, Jr., 1920
  Sinking Spring: John H. Addams, 1822
  Strausstown: Orson N. Ritzman, 1889
  Tulpehocken: J. Andrew Shulze, 1775
  Tulpehocken Township: Christian Lower, 1740
  Union Township: Jacob Knabb, 1817
  Womelsdorf: George Nicholas Eckert, 1802 — Albert W. Swalm, 1845 — John E. Livingood, 1889
  Near Womelsdorf: George Ege, 1748
  Yellow House: Ralph C. Body, 1903
   See also Pennsylvania birthplaces not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/BE-born.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]